Printer Friendly and PDF

Kuala Lumpur: India have named five players from their U-23 squad for the next round of the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 Qualifiers.

The five played in the recent AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers and India national team coach Stephen Constantine has included them in the training squad for the upcoming 2019 Asian Cup Group A qualifier against Macau.

India, who lead Group A of the Qualifiers with a perfect record after two matches, play Macau at the Macau Olympic Stadium on September 5. 

The squad will report for training in Chennai on August 11 ahead of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) organised Champions Cup 2017.

St. Kitts & Nevis and Mauritius have confirmed participation for the four-nation tournament on August 17-27. The AIFF is expected to confirm the fourth team shortly.

Sarthak Golui, Nikhil Poojary, Manvir Singh, Davinder Singh and Anirudh Thapa are the players called up from the India U-23 squad. 

After playing Macau on September 5, India will face Myanmar on November 14 and will complete their qualifying fixtures against Kyrgyz Republic on March 18, 2018. 

India Squad - Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul (Jamshedpur FC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Stabaek FC), Albino Gomes (Delhi Dynamos), Vishal Kaith (FC Pune City), TP Rehenesh (NorthEast United FC).

Defenders: Pritam Kotal (Delhi Dynamos), Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal), Anas Edathodika (Jamshedpur FC), Narayan Das (FC Goa),  Jerry Lalrinzuala (Chennaiyin FC), Salam Ranjan Singh (East Bengal), Sarthak Golui (Mohun Bagan), Davinder Singh (Minerva Punjab FC), Lalruatthara (Kerala Blasters).

Midfielders: Dhanpal Ganesh (Chennaiyin FC), Jackichand Singh (Kerala Blasters), Seityasen Singh (Delhi Dynamos),  Nikhil Poojary (East Bengal), Bikash Jairu (Jamshedpur FC), Milan Singh (Kerala Blasters), Udanta Singh (Bengaluru FC), Eugeneson Lyngdoh (ATK), Mohammed Rafique (East Bengal), Rowlin Borges (NorthEast United FC), Holicharan Narzary (NorthEast United FC), Germanpreet Singh (Chennaiyin FC), Anirudh Thapa (Chennaiyin FC).

Forwards: Jeje Lapekhlua (Chennaiyin FC), Sumeet Passi (Jamshedpur FC), Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC), Robin Singh (ATK), Balwant Singh (Mumbai City FC), Manvir Singh (FC Goa).

Photo: Myanmar Football Federation