You are in AFC Champions League  / Article

Ceres Negros win inaugural Philippines Football League 2017

Saturday, December 16, 2017
Ceres Negros champions - Philippines Football League 2017 - PFF

Bacolod: Ceres Negros beat Global Cebu FC 4-1 to be crowned champions of the Philippines Football League 2017 at the Pana-ad Stadium on Saturday. 

Bienvenido Maranon's goal and an Iain Ramsay hat-trick secured a convincing win for Ceres as they claimed the first PFL title since the supplanting of the United Football League.

Maranon opened the scoring just four minutes into the game, courtesy of Ramsay's pass from the left to beat Patrick Phillip.

Just moments later, Global went close with an attempt of their own, but Rufino Sanchez's shot struck the post.

In the 20th minute, Ramsay doubled the Ceres lead when a quick counter-attack caught Global off guard, Stephen Schrock surging down the centre before delivering a swift pass to Ramsay who finished with aplomb.

Ceres' superiority paid dividends once again seven minutes later when Jim Junior Munoz dribbled down the right flank before setting up for Ramsay to grab his brace and a third for Ceres.

Ramsay completed his hat-trick on 61 minutes after Maranon's pass found him in the box to give the Busmen a four-goal lead.

With a minute left on the clock, Darryl Roberts pulled one back for Global when Ceres failed to clear the ball in the box. 

Thanks to their success, Ceres earned a spot in the AFC Champions League 2017 Preliminary Stage and a tie against Myanmar's Shan United FC in January 2018.

CONGRATULATIONS @CeresNegrosFC Your 2017 Philippines Football League Champions!#PFL2017 #PFLFinalsSeries #PFLFinal

— #PFLFinal (@WeArePFL) December 16, 2017

Photos: Philippines Football League & Philippines Football Federation