You are in AFC Champions League  / Article

Persepolis retain Iran Pro League title

Friday, May 17, 2019
Persepolis - Iran Pro League 2018-19 champions (3)

Tehran: Persepolis FC secured a third consecutive Iran Pro League title after beating FC Pars Jonoubi Jam 1-0 on Thursday.

Heading into the final matchday, Persepolis had recorded four back-to-back draws and needed a win to secure the title.

After a tight opening, Croatian forward Mario Budimir found the back of the net four minutes from the break as Persepolis held on to clinch their 12th league title.

See also :

The title win means Branko Ivankovic’s side have confirmed their spot in the group stage of the 2020 AFC Champions League.

Their 2019 campaign, however, will end in the group stage after the 2018 runners-up play Qatar's Al Sadd in their final Group D tie on Monday - having collected only four points from their previous five matches.

Sepahan finished runners-up and Esteghlal third, thus qualifying for the 2020 AFC Champions League. Sepahan, who play Persepolis in the semi-finals, will earn a direct slot to the group stage if they win the Hazfi Cup.

Damash Gilan, who beat Saipa FC, have already secured their place in the Hazfi Cup final, which will be played on May 30.

Recommended Stories :