You are in AFC Asian Cup  / Article

UAE 2019 in numbers

Friday, November 16, 2018
AFC President with new Asian Cup trophy

Kuala Lumpur: With just 50 days to go for the kick-off of the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019, the teams are leaving no stone unturned in their bid to make a mark on the Continental showpiece.

While Asia's biggest teams took their customary place in the glittering draw in Dubai last May, there are several national sides who will be making their debuts in the Finals or returning to the Continental showpiece after having missed out on several editions.

See also :

The January 5-February 1 extravaganza promises to be a sizzling affair and offers some revealing statistics from the competition's past and present.

Competing Teams


AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 - 50 Days To Go

The expanded AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 will see 24 teams vying for honours in the January 5-February 1 extravaganza.

Prize Money & New Trophy

There will be prize money at stake - USD$14.8 million - for the first time in the AFC Asian Cup. The champions, when crowned on February 1, will also lift a brand new AFC Asian Cup trophy.

Continent's Pride and Joy


UAE 2019 will be the 17th edition of the AFC Asian Cup, with the first held in 1956 in Hong Kong with just four teams competing.


Eight world class stadiums will be used with the Zayed Sports City Stadium hosting both the opening match between the UAE and Bahrain on January 5 and the final on February 1.


Мы на Азии! 🇰🇬🇰🇬🇰🇬
Сборная Кыргызстана по футболу впервые в истории выходит на Чемпионат Азии! Мы сделали это!!!
Кыргызстан - Мьянма 5:1

— FFKR (@_FFKR) March 22, 2018

Kyrgyz Republic, Philippines, Yemen will be taking their bow in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 after sizzling performances in Qualifying. South Yemen featured in the 1976 Finals before unification.

Returning Teams

The scenes after India qualified for the AFC Asian Cup 2019. #BackTheBlue #AsianDream

— Indian Football Team (@IndianFootball) October 11, 2017

India and Syria make their return after missing out on the 2015 AFC Asian Cup, Thailand and Vietnam last featured in 2007 and Turkmenistan in 2004.

Previous Champions

Australia, Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Korea Republic and Saudi Arabia are the qualifiers who have lifted the AFC Asian Cup previously. Japan have emerged champions four times, Saudi Arabia and Iran thrice, Korea Republic twice while Australia and Iraq have won the title once each.

West Asia Cast

Eleven West Asian teams - UAE, Bahrain, Syria, Palestine (pictured above), Jordan, Iraq, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Lebanon and Oman - will be hoping to end the region's 12-year wait for the AFC Asian Cup, with Iraq in 2007 the last to emerge champions.

Long Wait

Korea Republic have finished in the top three nine times in their 13 previous appearances in the AFC Asian Cup. Their two title triumphs were achieved in 1956 (pictured above) and in 1960, with four runners-up finishes since.

All-time Top Scorer

IR Iran's legendary Ali Daei is the all-time leading scorer with 14 goals, scored in three editions of the AFC Asian Cup.

Recommended Stories :