AFC Developing MA of the Year: DPR Korea

Sunday, November 30, 2014
dpr developing ma 8x4 jpg

Kuala Lumpur: The DPR Korea Football Association has been declared the winner of the AFC Developing Member Association of the Year award during the AFC Annual Awards 2014 gala held on Sunday.

The prestigious award is given to a Member Association in recognition of its professional administration and governance as well its exceptional contribution to the development and promotion of the game at all levels within their country.

Recognising the diversity of MA’s in terms of facilities and resources and looking to ensure that more nations will receive recognition for their efforts and achievements in developing football in their country, the AFC last year introduced three winners for the Member Association of the Year award as opposed to just one. The Jordan Football Association was the winner of the Developing MA award last year.

“We are so happy about winning this award. All our FA, the players and our people in DPR Korea will be very pleased about this award," said DPR Korea Football Association Vice-President Han Un-gyong after being presented the award by AFC President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa.

“On behalf of DPR Korea Football Association, I am so thankful to the AFC and FIFA for this recognition. Now we are preparing for the AFC Asian Cup in January and we are preparing very well.”

The AFC’s 46 Member Associations are divided into three categories namely ‘Inspiring’, ’Developing’ and ‘Aspiring’. The category reflects the tier of AFC club competition the country is eligible to participate in.

Member Associations are assessed and awarded points on various areas encompassing the association’s activities such as the organisation of courses and seminars, competitions, grassroots and youth development, women’s programmes, social responsibility and special projects.

Points are also given for an MA’s hosting of AFC qualifying and finals tournaments as well as their national and club teams’ placing in AFC and FIFA competitions throughout the year.