AFC Awards

AFC Futsal Team of the Year 2015: Tasisat Daryaei

Sunday, November 29, 2015
tasisat champs fcc2015 8x4 jpg

New Delhi: Tasisat Daryaei became the first Iranian club side to be named the AFC Futsal Team of the Year, with the Tehran-based club’s triumph in the 2015 AFC Futsal Club Championship earning them the coveted accolade.

Having opened the group stage at the Nagshe Jahan Stadium in Isfahan with a resounding 8-1 victory (pictured) over Al Khaleej SC of the UAE, Tasisat advanced to the last eight after running out convincing 9-1 winners in their first encounter with Qadsia, to set up a quarter-final showdown with defending champions Nagoya Oceans.

Tasisat skipper Vahid Shamsaee scored twice and set up another for Reza Sangsefidi another as the hosts progressed to the semi-finals in a pulsating 4-3 win over the two-time tournament winners.

After a convincing 7-3 final win over Iraqis Naft Al Wasat,Tasisat renewed acquaintances with Qadsia in the title decider and defeated the Kuwaitis 5-4 in a hard-fought finale to become the first Iranian club to claim the continental title since 2012, when Sanaye Giti Pasand lifted the trophy but missed out on that year’s AFC Futsal Team of the Year award to AFC Futsal Championship winners Japan.