AFC Awards

Kerr humbled by AFC Women’s Player of the Year award

Wednesday, November 29, 2017
sam-kerr afc-womens-player-of-the-year-2017 jpg

Bangkok: Samantha Kerr joined the ranks of other Australian greats when she was named the winner of the AFC Women’s Player of the Year 2017 award on Wednesday, and is grateful for the recognition. ​

Previous Australian winners of the award were Kate Gill in 2010, Katrina Gorry in 2014 and last year’s Caitlin Foord.

“A lot of Australians have previously won it, so I'm very humbled to win it. Not only because Australians have won it but because it’s such a great award."

Kerr was quick to dedicate the award to her teammates saying: “It’s been a good year for all the clubs and my national team, the Matildas.

“I’m just really lucky to be part of great teams, Australia’s Perth Glory and Sky Blue of the United States, and of course the Matildas.”

The 24-year-old has had a successful year, and said she would remember those achievements even in the years to come.

“My top memory from this year would be, on a personal level, breaking the record in the National Women’s Soccer League, and tonight, and then winning the Tournament of Nations beating US for the first time. It will definitely be a moment I will remember forever.”

She also believes that her accomplishment will benefit women’s football development in Australia, but maintains her position that a team’s success is more important.

“This is the third time an Australian has won the award in four years, so I think we’re going in the right direction for Australia in women’s football.

“And I’m really proud to be flying the flag for Australia for the growth of women’s football and things like this help.

“I am very lucky to be part of two great clubs and more importantly my national team, so as I said before, everything you win individually is second to team awards and hopefully in the near future, I will have some success with the national team.”

Photo: AFC