Printer Friendly and PDF

Kuala Lumpur: AFC U-16 Women’s Championship 2017 hosts Thailand have been given the chance to avenge their defeats by China PR in the tournament's 2013 and 2015 editions, after the two sides were grouped together for this year's competition..

The two Asian heavyweights will face off in Group A, where the duo also have Korea Republic and Laos for company.

Meanwhile, reigning champions DPR Korea will face Japan - who finished second in 2015 - Australia and Bangladesh in Group B.

The eight (8) teams have been drawn into two (2) groups of four (4) teams each, and are scheduled to play a one-round league, with the top two (2) teams in each group - four (4) teams in total - qualifying for the semi-finals. The two (2) winners of the semi-finals will advance to the final, and the two (2) losing teams will contest third and fourth place.

The tournament will be played in Chonburi, Thailand from September 10 to 23.. 

The competition also serves as the qualifiers for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Uruguay 2018, with the top three ranked teams at this year’s AFC U-16 Women’s Championship going on to represent Asia. 

Group A
A1: Thailand 
A2: China PR
A3: Korea Republic
A4: Laos

Group B
B1: DPR Korea
B2: Japan
B3: Australia 
B4: Bangladesh

Photo: AFC