You are in / Article

Dodd calls up 32 players for Guam training camp

Harmon: Guam national team head coach Karl Dodd has named a preliminary 32-man training squad in preparation for the Asian Qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 and AFC Asian Cup China 2023.

Dodd is expected to trim the squad to a final roster of 23 players who will make up the team’s traveling squad by the end of May.

Guam, who sit bottom of Group A and have yet to register a point, will be vying for a place in the AFC Asian Cup China 2023 qualifying play-off round.

See also :

“For our programme to continually improve we need to ensure that we have players that embody the island, playing style and our values," Dodd told local media.

"We need to ensure that we are in the best possible condition for any match that the national team plays in to give the best account of ourselves. Asian football has improved dramatically over recent years and we need to rise to the challenge of meeting the standards of international football.”

Guam are scheduled to face Philippines on June 3, Syria four days later and China PR on June 11.

“The expectations for the players to earn a spot on the final roster are always increasing towards more professional standards.

"This means compliance with strength and conditioning programmess that are sent out for off-island players, attendance and commitment to training on the island, understanding and employing the tactics set out in our playing style, and playing regular matches at the highest level possible. Another aspect for the selection is on personal growth, in line with our values.

“COVID-19 has provided us some time for reflection and it has been interesting to see which players have applied a growth mindset to their development and provided an honest reflection on how they have performed in the past, and also who is actually doing what they say and not giving lip service,” Dodd added.

Guam squad
Dallas Jaye, Sean Evans, Alexander Stenson, and Sena Morimoto, Shawn Aguigui, Mark Chargualaf, Joey Ciochetto, Jason Cunliffe, Marlon Evans, Kyle Halehale, Shane Healy, Takumi Ito, Isiah Lagutang, Alex Lee, Nate Lee, Marcus Lopez, Shane Malcolm, Ian Mariano, John Matkin, Jacob McDonald, Morgan McKenna, Devan Mendiola, Anthony Moon, Leon Morimoto, Shawn Nicklaw, Travis Nicklaw, Robert Niu, Junior Pedemonte, Dominic Perez, Ryan Quitugua, Nate Sablan and Clayton Sato.

Source: Guam Football Association

Recommended Stories :