You are in / Article

Experts' AFC Asian Cup XI

Kuala Lumpur: With our fans’ vote AFC Asian Cup XI due to be released on Friday, we take a look at some alternative XIs from some of the experts of the Asian Game.

Now that you have had your say on who the best XI in the history of AFC Asian Cup are, it is time to consult three Asian football experts about their choice of the perfect XI, ahead of announcing the winners of the vote later this week. spoke to a journalist, a player and a coach, all with long-standing association with the AFC Asian Cup.

See also :

THE JOURNALIST (Marzooq Al Ajmi - Kuwait)

Award winning journalist Marzooq Al Ajmi has been writing about Kuwaiti and Asian football since 1992. His book "The Blues: Roots and Records 1902 - 2015" is the first comprehensive publication on the history of Kuwait national team.

Goalkeeper: Mohammed Al Deayea (KSA)

Defenders: Mohammed Abduljawad (KSA), Hong Myung-bo (KOR), Masami Ihara (JPN), Mehdi Mahdavikia (IRN)

Midfielders: Kim Joo-sung (KOR), Hasan Roushan (IRN), Ali Parvin (IRN), Shunsuke Nakamura (JPN)

Forwards: Ali Daei (IRN), Faisal Al Dakheil (KUW)

Coach: Carlos Alberto Pareira (Brazil)

THE PLAYER (Abbas Obeid)

Former Iraqi international midfielder Abbas Obeid represented his country in the 2000 AFC Asian Cup and was named in the Team of the Tournament. He also helped Pohang Steelers win the 1998 Asian Club Championship.

Goalkeeper: Marc Schwarzer (AUS)

Defenders: Hong Myung-bo (KOR), Mehdi Mahdavikia (IRN), Lucas Neill (AUS), Saleh Al Nuaimah (KSA)

Midfielders: Kim Joo-sung (KOR), Nashat Akram (IRQ), Shunsuke Nakamura (JPN)

Forwards: Ali Daei (IRN), Ali Mabkhout (UAE), Younis Mahmoud (IRQ)

Coach: Jorvan Vieira (Brazil)

THE COACH (Philippe Troussier)

Having managed seven national teams across Asia and Africa, Philippe Troussier's most memorable success in the continent was leading Japan to the 2000 AFC Asian Cup title. He was Qatar coach in the 2004 edition of the competition.

Goalkeeper: Mohammed Al Deayea (KSA)

Defenders: Hong Myung-bo (KOR), Lucas Neill (AUS), Yuji Nakazawa (JPN)

Midfielders: Hiroshi Nanami (JPN), Ali Karimi (IRN), Harry Kewell (AUS), Zheng Zhi (CHN)

Forwards: Ali Daei (IRN), Yasser Al Qahtani (KSA), Lee Dong-gook (KOR)

Coach: Philippe Troussier (France)

Recommended Stories :