You are in AFC Champions League  / Article

Sydney win A-League Grand Final on penalties

Sunday, May 19, 2019

Perth: Andrew Redmayne was the penalty shootout hero for A-League 2019 Champions Sydney FC, who beat Perth Glory 4-1 on penalties to win Sunday’s Grand Final.

Redmayne made two shootout saves from Perth’s Andy Keogh and Brendon Santalab after a tense, scoreless 120 minutes, leaving Reza Ghoochannejhad to dispatch the winning penalty for Steve Corica’s men.

It is the third time the Sky Blues have beaten Premiers Perth this season, and is Sydney’s fourth Grand Final win.

See also :

A Grand Final battle of attrition in WA was set in stone early on, and neither side could land an early blow despite Glory threatening via the aerial route, which saw Sky Blues goalkeeper Andrew Redmayne tip Dino Djulbic’s header over the bar.

Sydney had worked the best opening of the encounter midway through the first half and had the ball in the net when Adam Le Fondre tucked Michael Zullo’s centre past Perth shot stopper Liam Reddy after a near-post dart – only for the offside flag to rescue the hosts, much to the delight of the boisterous home crowd.

.@SydneyFC lift the @ALeague Championship! 🏆#ALeagueGF #FeelTheFinals

— Hyundai A-League (@ALeague) May 19, 2019

Another great Redmayne save kept another Glory header out following the interval, this time from Diego Castro, who forced the Sydney custodian into a smart reflex stop after an unmarked header at the near post.

The diminutive former La Liga veteran found himself the recipient of Perth’s ongoing aerial assault shortly after, but this time, Castro’s header was tame and comfortably gathered by Redmayne.

It’s party time for @SydneyFC! 🏆#ALeagueGF #FeelTheFinals #PERvSYD

— Hyundai A-League (@ALeague) May 19, 2019

Popovic and Corica introduced attacking spark from the bench in the form of Keogh and Ghoochannejhad, but neither Perth’s top scorer or Sydney’s Islamic Republic of Iran attacker could break the deadlock over the 90, or indeed 120 minutes.

Both teams have sealed their tickets to the 2020 AFC Champions League.


Recommended Stories :