You are in / Article

2020 AFC Champions League (East) – How it stands: Group H

Doha: The clash between Sydney FC and Shanghai SIPG on November 19 at Khalifa International Stadium will mark the resumption of Group H of the 2020 AFC Champions League. 

As it stands the group, which also features two-time winners Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors and 2019 J1 League champions Yokohama F. Marinos, is led by the Japanese side on six points from two games after picking up back-to-back wins.

Jeonbuk and Sydney, who have both also played two matches, sit second and third respectively on a point apiece while Shanghai had yet to start their campaign before the tournament was halted in early March.

See also :

The opening game in Group H saw Yokohama mark their return to the competition after a six-year hiatus with a 2-1 win against Jeonbuk in Jeonju sealed courtesy of Keita Endo's opener and an own goal from the now departed Kim Jin-su.

Hot on the heels of that victory came a resounding 4-0 victory over Sydney on home turf with Ado Onaiwu and Teruhito Nakagawa each scoring braces as Ange Postecoglou's side got off to a storming start on the Continent.

Group H - MD1: Jeonbuk Hyundai FC 1-2 Yokohama F. Marinos

Then on March 4, in what turned out to be the final 2020 AFC Champions League fixture before the competition was postponed as COVID-19 spread around the world, Sydney and Jeonbuk produced an entertaining 2-2 encounter in Australia.

An own goal from Luke Brattan put visitors Jeonbuk in front early in the second half but Trent Buhagair levelled soon after. Adam le Fondre, who has since left for India, struck from the spot to put the hosts back in the lead but Han Kyo-won secured a point for the Korean side after an 89th-minute equaliser.

In the sides' respective league campaigns in 2020, it is Jeonbuk and Sydney who have enjoyed the better seasons with both being crowned champions of their countries.

For the second successive season, Jeonbuk pipped Ulsan Hyundai on the final day of the K League 1 season to clinch a record eighth title and fourth in a row, before defeating the same opposition to wrap up a league-cup double with their first FA Cup triumph since 2005.

Success was less dramatic for Sydney, who finished top of the A-League by six points and then won a record fifth Grand Final following a 1-0 extra-time victory over Melbourne Victory.

Yokohama failed to live up to their title-winning campaign of 2019, producing an inconsistent season which is likely to see them end up in a mid-table position when the J1 League comes to a close in December.

And Shanghai will have also been disappointed to finish in fourth position of a reshaped Chinese Super League after losing the third-place playoff against Beijing FC.

The four sides will converge on Qatar with their sights set on securing a place in the knockout rounds.


Nov. 19: Sydney FC vs Shanghai SIPG
Nov. 22: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors vs Shanghai SIPG
Nov. 25: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors vs Sydney FC; Shanghai SIPG vs Yokohama F. Marinos
Nov. 28: Yokohama F. Marinos vs Shanghai SIPG
Dec. 1: Yokohama F. Marinos vs Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors; Shanghai SIPG vs Sydney FC
Dec. 4: Shanghai SIPG vs Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors; Sydney FC vs Yokohama F. Marinos

Poll ends at 16:00 (UTC +8) on November 19.

Recommended Stories :