You are in / Article

2020 AFC Champions League (East): Quarter-final cast finalised

Doha: Suwon Samsung Bluewings of Korea Republic were the fourth team to advance to the 2020 AFC Champions League (East) quarter-finals following a thrilling come-from-behind 3-2 win over Japan's Yokohama F. Marinos at the Khalifa International Stadium on Monday.

Suwon Samsung Bluewings joined China PR's Beijing, Japan's Vissel Kobe and Ulsan Hyundai FC of Korea Republic in the quarter-finals, with the knockout stage draw to be conducted at 11:30 (UTC+3) in Doha on Tuesday.

See also :

Vissel Kobe, in their maiden AFC Champions League appearance, sealed their berth earlier on Monday with a classy 2-0 win over China PR's Shanghai SIPG with goals by Spanish legend Andres Iniesta and Daigo Nishi taking them into the quarter-finals.

Beijing confirmed their appearance in the AFC Champions League quarter-finals by seeing off the challenge of Japan's FC Tokyo 1-0 on Sunday, with the Chinese Super League club having been eliminated at the last 16 stage in 2010, 2013 and 2015.

Ulsan Hyundai FC enjoyed a more emphatic victory, defeating Australia's Melbourne Victory 3-0 on Sunday as Kim Do-hoon's side continued their fabulous form in Doha with a sixth win.

Persepolis FC await in the final, with the 2018 runners-up having confirmed their spot in October. The final will be played at Doha's Al Janoub Stadium on December 19.

Recommended Stories :