You are in / Article

2020 AFC Champions League (East): The Stats Leaders

Kuala Lumpur: With the resumption of the 2020 AFC Champions League (East) just hours away eight months after the last ball was kicked, takes a closer look at the numbers that caught the eye in the opening two rounds of fixtures.

While only six of the 15 participants from the East Zone have played two games to date and a further six sides have appeared once (taking into account Johor Darul Ta'zim's withdrawal), the figures – provided by the AFC's official data provider Stats Perform – give an indication of those that hit form prior to the COVID-19 enforced hiatus.

See also :


Two players in the East Zone have found the back of the net twice, with Yokohama F. Marinos pair Ado Onaiwu and Teruhito Nakagawa each bagging braces in the 4-0 win over Sydney FC back in February. Eleven other players are on one goal.

Group H - MD2: Yokohama F. Marinos 4-0 Sydney FC

1. Teruhito Nakagawa, Yokohama F. Marinos – 2
1. Ado Onaiwu, Yokohama F. Marinos – 2

3. Park Chu-young, FC Seoul – 1
3. Trent Buhagiar, Sydney FC – 1
3. Wang Ziming, Beijing FC – 1

Chances Created

Four points from two games saw FC Tokyo get off to a strong start and, in addition to scoring the winner against Perth Glory on Matchday Two, Brazilian Leandro was the only player in the East to hit double figures in terms of chances created.

1. Leandro, FC Tokyo – 11
2. Jonathan Viera, Beijing FC – 7
2. Marcos Junior, Yokohama F. Marinos – 7
4. Kim Bo-kyung, Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors – 6
5. Theerathon Bunmathan, Yokohama F. Marinos – 5


Sydney FC's centre-back pairing were kept busy in their opening two games as Ryan McGowan made 15 clearances and alongside him, Alex Wilkinson made 10.

1. Ryan McGowan, Sydney FC – 15
2. Alex Wilkinson, Sydney FC – 10
2. Kim Min-deok, Ulsan Hyundai – 10
4. Sarawut Inwan, Chiangrai United – 8
5. Brinner, Chiangrai United – 8

Duels Won

Chiangrai United's Sivakorn Tiatrakul and Melbourne Victory's Ola Toivonen won 17 duels apiece as their sides kicked off their respective campaigns. Former Swedish international Toivonen, though, has since returned to his homeland.

1. Sivakorn Tiatrakul, Chiangrai United – 17
1. Ola Toivonen, Melbourne Victory – 17
3. Mailson, Chiangrai United – 16
3. Anthony Lesiotis, Melbourne Victory – 16
5. Keita Endo, Yokohama F. Marinos – 15

Successful Passes

The Japanese teams were dominant when it came to time spent on the ball, with the top five players in successful passes coming from J1 League. Yokohama F. Marinos' Takahiro Ogihara is out in front on 174, while three of his teammates also feature in the list.

1. Takahiro Ogihara, Yokohama F. Marinos – 174
2. Thiago Martins, Yokohama F. Marinos – 143
3. Theerathon Bunmathan, Yokohama F. Marinos – 132
4. Takuya Kida, Yokohama F. Marinos – 109
5. Kento Hashimoto, FC Tokyo – 103

Passing accuracy (of players who have made more than 100 passes)

Of those who made more than 100 passes, Yokohama F. Marinos' Thiago Martins (155 passes) leads the way with a passing accuracy of 92.26 percent, followed by Vissel Kobe's Leo Osaki (106 passes) on 91.51%.

1. Thiago Martins, Yokohama F. Marinos – 92.26%
2. Leo Osaki, Vissel Kobe – 91.51%
3. Kento Hashimoto, FC Tokyo – 90.35%
4. Takuaya Kida, Yokohama F. Marinos – 89.34%
5. Takahiro Ogihara, Yokohama F. Marinos – 89.23%


Chiangrai United lost their opening two games by narrow 1-0 margins, although it could have been more had goalkeeper Apirak Worawong not put in a pair of strong performances in which he made 10 saves.

1. Apirak Worawong, Chiangrai United – 10
2. Andrew Redmayne, Sydney FC – 8
3. Song Beom-keun, Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors – 5
4. Hou Sen, Beijing FC – 5
5. Thomas Lawrence, Melbourne Victory – 5


Kim Jin-su was out in front when it came to interceptions, although the left-back has since left former winners Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors to join Al Nassr in Saudi Arabia. Of the remaining players in the 2020 AFC Champions League (East), Sydney FC's Luke Brattan leads the way.

1. Kim Jin-su, Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors – 11
2. Luke Brattan (pictured), Sydney FC – 8
3. Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Melbourne Victory – 7
4. Tanasak Srisai, Chiangrai United – 6
4. Adama Traore, Melbourne Victory – 6

Dribbles completed

And finally, a trio of players completed six dribbles as they opened their Continental campaigns although special mention goes to both Beijing FC's Jonathan Viera and Perth Glory's Diego Castro, with the Spanish duo doing so in just one match.

1. Jonathan Viera, Beijing FC – 6
1. Diego Castro, Perth Glory – 6
1. Keita Endo, Yokohama F. Marinos – 6

4. Takahiro Kunimoto, Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors – 5
4. Elvis Kamsoba, Melbourne Victory – 5

Photos: Chiangrai United, Yokohama F. Marinos

Recommended Stories :