You are in / Article

ACL2020 – How it stands: Group C

Doha: Recently crowned Qatar Stars League champions Al Duhail SC face reigning UAE Pro League champions Sharjah, while Iran Pro League winners Persepolis FC face Saudi Arabia’s King Cup holders Al Taawoun FC on Matchday Three of the 2020 AFC Champions League Group C on Tuesday.

With the action having been halted after two rounds of matches, Al Taawoun sit top of the group with six points, while Al Duhail are second with three. Persepolis, the 2018 runners-up, and Sharjah have a point each.

See also :

Al Taawoun opened their second ever AFC Champion League campaign after 2017 with a narrow 1-0 win against Sharjah courtesy of Faisal Darwish, then followed it up on Matchday Two with a 2-0 upset against Al Duhail as Mohamed Al Sahlawi lobbed in a fumbled clearance before teammate Abdulmajeed Al Swat left-footed a low shot into the bottom corner.

Group C - MD1: Sharjah 0-1 Al Taawoun FC

A repeat of the 2018 AFC Champions League quarter-final saw Al Duhail beat Persepolis 2-0 with goals from Mario Mandzukic and Edmilson. The Tehran-based side later played out a 1-1 draw with Sharjah as both sides collected their first point of the campaign.

Group C - MD1: Al Duhail SC 2-0 Persepolis FC

Having reached back-to-back semi-finals in 2017 and 2018, Persepolis need to avoid defeat in their double header against group leaders Al Taawoun if they are to avoid a second group stage exit in a row.

Conversely, the Saudis could seal qualification to the Round of 16 for the first time in their history should they collect all six points from their next two games.

For Sharjah, the back-to-back clashes against Al Duhail represent the last opportunity to stay in contention upon their return to the competition after a 16-year absence.

Whichever way the results go at the Education City Stadium on Tuesday then Friday, the four Group C teams will go into the final two matchdays next week with a clearer idea on where they stand.

Who will advance to the knockout stage from Group C? Poll ends at 22:00 (UTC +8) on September 15.

Recommended Stories :