You are in / Article

AFC Champions League: Best Celebrations of 2020

Kuala Lumpur: Our tribute to the Best Goals of the 2020 AFC Champions League series has so far brought you some of the finest goals and saves from the last edition, but the series will come to an end this week as we honour some of the most uplifting and gratifying celebrations. 

As the kick-off date for the historic 2021 edition approaches, looks back at the 2020 tournament which turned out to be a thrilling affair despite the challenging circumstances.

We kicked off the series in style with fans voting Persepolis FC's Mehdi Abdi Qara as the winner of the Best Headers, Ramin Rezaeian of Al Duhail topped the Best Free-Kicks, Al Nassr's Abdulrahman Al Obaid won the Best Long-Range Goals, Abderrazak Hamdallah's strike against Qatar's Al Saad on Matchday One was voted as the winner of the Best Team Goals while Persepolis' Qara topped the Best Last-Minute Goals, his teammate Hamed Lak won the Best Saves, while Pedro Conde topped the Best Clinical Finishes.

For our final week, we have a selection of seven scorers celebrating their goals in unique styles and invite you, the fan, to tell us which was your favourite.

See also :

Salman Al Moasher
Al Ahli Saudi FC vs Esteghlal FC (Matchday Two)

Salman Al Moasher (Al Ahli Saudi FC vs Esteghlal FC)

First on the list is none other than Al Ahli Saudi FC's Salman Al Moasher. The 32-year-old forward has appeared in the AFC Champions League since 2015, but the last time Al Moasher found the back of the net was in 2017.

So it was only to be expected that Al Moasher celebrated in style with his teammates when he ended his goal drought in 2020, with a second to follow against Esteghlal shortly after.

Wang Ziming
Chiangrai United vs Beijing FC (Matchday Two)

Wang Ziming (Chiangrai United vs Beijing FC)`

Wang Ziming opened Beijing FC's 2020 account by swiftly slotting home Jonathan Viera's through pass against Chiangrai United of Thailand. His celebration was equally impressive, as seen in the highlight.

Akram Afif
Al Ain FC vs Al Sadd SC (Matchday Three)

Akram Afif (Al Ain FC vs Al Sadd SC)

Trailing 1-0 against Al Ain FC, Akram Afif drew Al Sadd SC level in the 35th minute with yet another classy goal. The 2019 AFC Player of the Year's celebration was equally unique.

Khalid Al Ghannam
Al Sadd SC vs Al Nassr (Matchday Five)

Khalid Al Ghannam (Al Sadd SC vs Al Nassr)

Appearing in his inaugural edition of the AFC Champions League, Khalid Al Ghannam celebrated opening his account by breaking into a jig after scoring against Al Sadd.

Welliton Morais
Al Taawoun FC vs Sharjah (Matchday Five)

Welliton Morais (Al Taawoun FC vs Sharjah)

Welliton starred with a hat-trick for Sharjah in their 6-0 defeat of Al Taawoun FC 6-0 with the Brazilian's bright smile and heart-shaped celebration accompanying each goal.

Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba
Al Nassr vs Al Ain FC (Matchday Six)

Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba (Al Nassr v Al Ain FC)

Only pride may have been at stake for UAE's Al Ain FC against Al Nassr but that didn't stop Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba marking his goal in his own special way.

Bjorn Johnsen
Shanghai Shenhua FC vs Ulsan Hyundai FC (Matchday Six)

Bjorn Johnsen (Shanghai Shenhua FC v Ulsan Hyundai FC)

Bjorn Johnsen played a key role in Ulsan Hyundai FC winning the 2020 AFC Champions League title and it was a joy to see him celebrate each of his goals.

Poll ends on April 10, 17:00 (UTC+8).

Recommended Stories :