You are in AFC Champions League  / Article

Historic first for Perth Glory

Sunday, April 14, 2019

Perth: Perth Glory claimed their first A-League Premiership following their 1-0 victory over the Newcastle Jets on Sunday, earning themselves a place in the 2020 AFC Champions League.

In front of 11,349 supporters at HBF Park, a second half strike from defender Ivan Franjic helped lift Tony Popovic’s side to a narrow victory over the Novocastrians.

Sydney FC’s hopes of claiming the A-League 2019 Premiership suffered a blow on Saturday after they drew 1-1 with Western Sydney Wanderers FC in the Sydney Derby at ANZ Stadium.

And with Perth winning in the west on Sunday, the Glory can no longer be caught by the Sky Blues atop the A-League 2018/19 standings.

See also :

Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chairman Chris Nikou congratulated Perth Glory on their achievement.

“Perth Glory are a proud club with a proud history and are definitely deserved A-League Premiers following their outstanding season,” Nikou said.

“Glory won two Premierships in the National Soccer League era, however this is their first in the A-League and I am sure everyone involved with their Club will be thrilled with the achievement.

“We congratulate Perth Glory Head Coach Tony Popovic, his coaching staff, captain Diego Castro and all the players for their outstanding performances throughout the season."

HISTORY IS MADE! It's confirmed, @PerthGloryFC are your @ALeague Premiers!

— Perth Glory FC (@PerthGloryFC) April 14, 2019

Perth Glory will host their A-League 2019 semi-final on May 10 at HBF Park against the lowest ranked winner from the A-League 2019 Elimination Finals the previous week.

They also have their inaugural AFC Champions League campaign to look forward to in 2020 and head coach Popovic will be looking to steer them to more glory, having led Western Sydney Wanderers to the Continental title in 2014.

Source: Football Federation Australia, Perth Glory FC

Recommended Stories :