You are in AFC Champions League  / Article

Matchday Six - Group G: Buriram United seal second spot

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Jeju United FC v Buriram United - ACL 2018

Jeju: A second-half goal from Korrakot Wiriyaudomsiri put Buriram United through to the last 16 of the 2018 AFC Champions League as the Thai champions took second spot in Group G with a 1-0 win at Jeju United.

The victory confirmed that the Korean side would finish bottom of the group, while Buriram edged ahead of Cerezo Osaka and behind Guangzhou Evergrande.

Supachai Jaided had the first good effort for Buriram when he forced Kim Kyeong-min to push wide a powerful angled shot in the 13th minute.

Jeju then came within inches of taking the lead in the 21st minute when Magno Cruz beat the offside trap before his chip over Siwarak Tedsungnoen struck the post.

Buriram came agonisingly close in the 30th minute when Jakkaphan Kaewprom crashed in a shot that beat the goalkeeper but was headed off the line by Cho Yong-hyung.


Siwarak then tipped over Kim Do-yeop’s header as the action flowed from end to end.

The Thai champions were first to threaten in the second half when Jakkaphan’s free-kick from the left found Diogo Luis Santo and the Brazilian’s header was well saved by Kim Kyeong-min.

And Buriram took the lead in the 55th minute when Diogo found Sasalak Haiprakhon with a neat back heel on the right. Sasalak turned inside his man and found Korakkot unmarked at the back post to tap the ball into an empty net.

🎉 Congratulations to Guangzhou Evergrande and Buriram United for qualifying for the #ACL2018 Round of 16!

— AFC Champions League (@TheAFCCL) April 17, 2018

The visitors had an excellent chance to add a second when Supachok Sarachat ran through the home defence and cut the ball back to Diogo, whose low shot was saved.

The Thai side were almost made to regret that miss when Kim Do-yeop’s free-kick from 25 yards struck the top of the bar.

But Buriram held on to reach the Round of 16 for the first time since 2013, and they now meet either Jeonbuk Hyundai or Tianjin Quanjian.