You are in AFC Futsal Championship  / Article

Stage set for 2020 qualifiers

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Kuala Lumpur: Asia’s stars will learn their opponents for the AFC Futsal Championship 2020 Qualifiers in the official draw ceremony at the AFC House on Thursday.

The cream of the crop will be vying for 15 slots to the Continental showpiece in Turkmenistan next year.

A total of 31 Member Associations (MAs) will battle it out in the Qualifiers divided into four zones - East, ASEAN, West and the combined Central and South.

See also :

For the ASEAN Zone, the AFF Futsal Championship 2019 will serve as the qualifying competition for the AFC Futsal Championship Turkmenistan 2020.

Thailand were drawn alongside Myanmar, Timor-Leste and Cambodia in Group A while Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia and Australia are in Group B.

The tournament will be held in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam on October 21-27 with the top three teams qualifying for the AFC Futsal Championship 2020.

AFF Futsal Championship 2019

— ASEAN Football (@AFFPresse) July 19, 2019

The six group winners - two each from West, East and the combined Central and South zones - from the Qualifiers will advance to the Finals.

They will be joined by the respective group runners-up from the Central and South Zones. The third team from the East Zone will be decided through a playoff.

The respective runners-up from the West zone will also qualify with the fifth spot to be decided via a playoff between the third-placed teams from the two groups.

The dates for the Qualifiers will be announced in due course.

Islamic Republic of Iran defeated Japan to lift the title for a 12th time in the 2018 edition.