AFC Solidarity Cup
You are in AFC Solidarity Cup  / Article

Leong and Shahrazen win MVP and Top Scorer awards

Tuesday, November 15, 2016
leong ka hang mvp jpg

Kuching: Macau’s Leong Ka Hang and Shahrazen Said of Brunei Darussalam were named the winners of the MVP and Top Scorer awards respectively during the AFC Solidarity Cup Malaysia 2016 awards ceremony at Sarawak Stadium on Tuesday.

Macau narrowly lost to Nepal 1-0 in the final match but Leong (pictured, centre) took home the MVP accolade after a string of excellent performances in the competition, having been adjudged MVP in two Group Stage games and scoring two goals - including one in Macau's penalty shootout win over Brunei in the semi-finals.

“This MVP award is a bonus for me and the team,” the 23-year-old told “Nepal played very well and I think we got a great bonus having come to this stage of this competition.

“We were not very good in the first half and we also need to improve in terms of speed and skills and we found it hard to defend Nepal’s attacks.

“After the goal by Nepal, we lost confidence a bit. But we learned a lot from our coach, that we must work hard no matter the playing conditions. We lost in the final but we will come back in the future. I believe we can be even more confident in the future with our performance in this competition.”

Shahrazen recorded an assist and four goals that included a brace in their 3-2 loss to Laos in the third-place play-off. The 30-year-old striker also netted in the Bruneians’ 4-0 win over Timor-Leste as well as in his side's semi-final match against Macau.

Meanwhile, third-place winners Laos also bagged the Fair Play award.

Full list of winners:
*Champions: *Nepal
*Runners-up: *Macau
*Third place: *Laos
*MVP: *Leong Ka Hang (Macau No9)
*Top Scorer: *Shahrazen Said (Brunei No22 – four goals, one assist)
*Fair Play: *Laos

Photo: AFC