You are in AFC U-16 Championship  / Article

High quality cast for Finals

Monday, September 23, 2019

Kuala Lumpur: The qualifying cast for the AFC U-16 Championship 2020 was finalised on Sunday with nine of the 15 teams who qualified having lifted the Continental trophy at least once before.

The 11 group winners were joined by the four best second-placed teams - Yemen, Indonesia, Uzbekistan and Oman - with the 16th spot reserved for the host country.

See also :

Defending champions Japan, who have won the title three times, led the group winners as they finished top of Group J.

Also through as group winners were China PR, DPR Korea, Korea Republic, Oman and Saudi Arabia - all of whom have won the title twice each.

Islamic Republic of Iran, Qatar and Uzbekistan, who have all emerged champions once each, also advanced to the Finals.

Tajikistan, who impressed with their run to the 2018 final, emerged Group A winners to take their place alongside Asia's elite, as did India who saw off tough challenges to top Group B.

United Arab Emirates, runners-up in 1990, sailed into the Finals with a perfect record of three wins in Group F while three-time semi-finalists Australia saw off the challenge of Vietnam in Hanoi to win Group H.

Yemen will be making a long overdue return to the Finals, with their only previous appearance having been in 2002.

Another team who will return to the Finals after a long lapse are Indonesia, whose last appearance was in 1990.

The AFC's Competitions Committee has recommended that Bahrain hosts the 2020 Finals, scheduled for September 16-October 3 next year.

The Cast - Host: Bahrain.

Group Winners: Tajikistan (A), India (B), Islamic Republic of Iran (C), Saudi Arabia (D), Qatar (E), United Arab Emirates (F), China PR (G), Australia (H), DPR Korea (I), Japan (J), Korea Republic (K).

Best Runners-up: Yemen (E), Indonesia (G), Uzbekistan (B), Oman (D).

Recommended Stories :