You are in / Article

Stage set for the 2020 qualifiers

Kuala Lumpur: Asia’s rising stars will learn their opponents for the AFC U-19 Championship 2020 Qualifiers in the official draw ceremony at the AFC House on Thursday.

A total of 46 Member Associations (MAs) will battle it out in the Qualifiers divided into 2 zones of WEST (West + South + Central) with 25 teams and EAST (East +ASEAN) with 21 teams.

The 11 group winners and four best second-placed teams among all groups shall qualify to the Finals alongside the hosts, who will receive automatic qualification.

See also :

The MAs that have been selected as the hosts of the Qualifiers will be drawn into separate groups. The West hosts are; Bahrain, Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Tajikistan. Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, Myanmar and Vietnam will be the East zone hosts.

The Qualifiers will be played on November 2-10, 2019.

Saudi Arabia clinched their third AFC U-19 title in 2018, for the first time since 1992, after defeating Korea Republic 2-1 in the final.

Recommended Stories :