You are in AFC U-19 Women's Championship  / Article

Blayney finalises Young Matildas squad 

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Sydney: Young Matildas head coach Leah Blayney has shortlisted the Australia squad for the forthcoming AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019.

Blayney’s 23-player squad are lined-up in Group A alongside 2007 champions DPR Korea, Thailand and Vietnam, while Group B consists Japan, China PR, Korea Republic and Myanmar.

The top two teams from each of the two groups in Chonburi will advance to the semi-finals of the competition, with the top three sides at the tournament earning Asia’s qualification slots at the 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

See also :

Australia, who have been busy with centralised training, will continue their preparations in Sydney from October 17-21 before making their journey to Chonburi.

“We have spent the past three weeks holding a series of short but highly beneficial camps in Sydney,” Blayney explained.

“These camps have helped the coaching staff finalise our squad for the Asian Championship, which is the most prestigious tournament for females of this age group across our Confederation.”

“We believe that with the squad we have going to this tournament we are a strong chance of earning Australia qualification for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup for the first time since 2006.

“Many of the players in the squad have had significant W-League exposure across the nation, while players such as Karly Roestbakken, Mary Fowler, Kyra Cooney-Cross, Princess Ibini, Rachel Lowe, and Courtney Nevin have had varying levels of exposure to the senior Matildas’ set-up, too,” she added.

Following a week acclimatising to the heat and humidity in Thailand, the Young Matildas will open their campaign on October 27 against Thomas Gerstner’s DPR Korea at the IPE Chonburi Stadium.

Australia squad: Morgan Aquino, Teressa Morrissey, Annie Grove, Chelsea Blissett, Kyra Cooney-Cross, Deborah De La Harpe, Shadeene Evans, Ciara Fowler, Mary Fowler, Charlotte Grant, Abbey Green, Emily Hodgson, Angelique Hristodoulou, Princess Ibini, Aideen Keane, Rachel Lowe, Claudia Mihocic, , Courtney Nevin, Hollie Palmer, Susan Phonsongkham, Indiah-paige Riley, Karly Roestbakken, Tessa Tamplin.

Sources: Football Federation Australia

Recommended Stories :