You are in / Article

Preview: Round Two Qualifiers Draw

Kuala Lumpur: Eight teams will identify their opponents for the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 Round Two Qualifiers in the official draw ceremony on Wednesday. 

Join as we recap how these teams sealed a spot in the second round of the Qualifiers.

See also :

Official Draw Ceremony
Where: AFC House
When: February 13, Wednesday, 1500 local time
(The draw will be livestreamed on the link below)


Australia missed out on an automatic berth to the 2019 Finals after finishing fourth in the 2017 edition but showed their quality in the first round of the Qualifiers, scoring 23 goals and conceding none to advance as Group A winners.

Lebanon, meanwhile, edged closer to a maiden AFC U-19 Championship Finals appearance by finishing behind Australia in Group A, advancing as one of the two best second-placed teams.

Nepal only suffered one loss in the first preliminary round and despite finishing second in Group B, the South Asian side progressed after Finals host Thailand finished as group winners on goal difference.

Uzbekistan asserted themselves as a team to watch with their impressive performance in a five-team Group C, powering to four wins with 34 goals scored and only two conceded.

Two-time champions Korea Republic flexed their muscles in Group D, topping the first round with a perfect record of three wins with no goals conceded.

Vietnam signalled their intent with wins over Jordan, Malaysia and Singapore in Group E, only conceding a goal throughout their Round One run.


2019 AFC U-19 Women's Championship Qualifiers - Draw Mechanics

In a tough three-team Group F in Round One, Islamic Republic of Iran confirmed their place in the second round after edging Myanmar for top spot on goal difference, while the Southeast Asian side squeezed through as one of the two best second-placed teams.

In the final round of the Qualifiers, the eight teams will be divided into two groups of four teams, with the group winners and runners-up joining Thailand, reigning champions Japan, DPR Korea and China PR in the Finals in October.