You are in AFC U-19 Women's Championship  / Article

Teams confirmed for Thailand 2019

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Kuala Lumpur: Korea Republic, Australia, Vietnam and Myanmar have completed the line-up for the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 after the conclusion of the Round 2 Qualifying on Tuesday.

Title holders Japan automatically qualified for the tournament which will be held from October 27 to November 9 in Thailand following their success in 2017 and they will be joined by the last edition’s runners-up DPR Korea and third placed China PR. Thailand qualify as the host nation.

The remaining four slots were determined after two qualifying stages with Australia sealing a place in the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 following an impressive qualifying campaign where they topped Group A and were undefeated.

See also :

They will be joined by second placed Myanmar who punched their ticket to the Championship later this year.

Korea Republic finished on top of Group B while Vietnam completed the final eight teams after edging Islamic Republic of Iran on lower fair play points.

The AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 will be also see the top three teams qualify for the 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) General Secretary Dato’ Windsor John congratulated the eight Asian teams who successfully qualified for the showpiece.

He said: “It is great to see the rapid rise of women’s football in Asia and the AFC is proud to give these young women footballers a platform to shine and showcase their talent on the international stage.

“The AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 is an important competition and I wish the best to all teams as the top-three teams will represent Asia and their countries in the 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.”

Recommended Stories :