You are in / Article

Thailand 2019: All you need to know 

Chonburi: Eight teams will be vying for glory when the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship Thailand 2019 kicks off on Sunday.

Ahead of the tournament opener between DPR Korea and Australia, join as we detail all you need to know about the Continental extravaganza in Chonburi.

See also :


Host nation Thailand will appear alongside seven other sides – reigning champions Japan, DPR Korea, China PR, Australia, Myanmar, Korea Republic and Vietnam – at this year’s AFC U-19 Women’s Championship.

The top three finishers at Thailand 2019 will be guaranteed places at next year’s FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in Nigeria.

After finishing first, second and third respectively at the 2017 AFC U-19 Women’s Championship, Japan, DPR Korea and China PR all qualified automatically for this year’s edition – as did Thailand even though they featured in the first phase of qualification.

The other four teams, meanwhile, went through two rounds of qualifying to reach Thailand 2019.


This will be the 10th edition of the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship. First played in the Indian state of Goa in 2002, the tournament has, for the most part, been held on a biennial basis ever since.

With five AFC U-19 Women’s Championship titles to their name, Japan are by far the competition’s most successful nation. East Asian rivals Korea Republic emerged victorious in 2004 and 2013, while China PR were crowned champions in 2006 and 2007 respectively.


Sunday, October 27: Group A kicks off
Monday, October 28: Group B kicks off
Wednesday, November 6: Semi-finals
Saturday, November 9: 3rd / 4th Play-off
Saturday, November 9: Final


The competition is being held in the city of Chonburi which is the capital of Thailand’s Chonburi province. Two venues will be used - the Chonburi Stadium and the IPE Chonburi Stadium.

AFC U-19 Women's Championship 2019 Thailand


Group A – October 27: DPR Korea vs Australia (4pm); Thailand vs Vietnam (7pm)
Group B – October 28: Japan vs Myanmar (4pm); China PR vs Korea Republic (7pm)
* Local kick-off times

Click here for the Thailand 2019 fixtures


Japan beat DPR Korea 1-0 in the 2017 final thanks to Riko Ueki’s goal in the 50th minute. China PR, who had been hosts for the tournament, beat Australia to seal third place.

Recommended Stories :