AFC U23 Championship
You are in AFC U23 Championship  / Article

Cast for 2020 Finals confirmed 

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Kuala Lumpur: The AFC U23 Championship Thailand 2020 Qualifiers came to an exciting end on Tuesday as the cast was finalised on a day of high octane action.

Defending champions Uzbekistan advanced, as did runners-up Vietnam, who defeated the host of the 2020 Finals Thailand 4-0 to emerge as Group K winners with a perfect record of three wins.

Also through were Iraq, the champions of 2013, and Japan, winners in 2016.

See also :

Qatar, who finished fourth in 2016 and third in the 2018 edition, also advanced and will be aiming to emulate the senior squad who won the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019.

Bahrain will be competing in their maiden Finals after having won Group B.

The top three teams in the Finals will qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, although should Japan emerge as one of them, the fourth-placed side will advance. The AFC U23 Championship Thailand 2020 will be held on January 8-26.

The Qualifiers Group Winners - Group A: Qatar; Group B: Bahrain; Group C: Iraq; Group D: UAE; Group E: Jordan; Group F: Uzbekistan; Group G: DPR Korea; Group H: Korea Republic; Group I: Japan; Group J: China PR; Group K: Vietnam Four Best Second-Placed Teams: Australia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Syria, Saudi Arabia Host: Thailand