You are in / Article

Teams to learn opponents for 2020 Qualifiers

Kuala Lumpur: 44 countries from across Asia have entered the AFC U23 Championship 2020 Qualifiers, and they are set to identify their groups in the official draw ceremony at the AFC House on Wednesday.

The draw will  be live streamed on YouTube, with fans able to follow on the link below:


The Qualifiers will divide the 44 hopefuls into two zones of WEST (West + South + Central) with 24 teams, and EAST (East + ASEAN) with 20 teams as follows.


WEST Zone by seeding

No. Teams No. Teams
1 Uzbekistan (Host for Qualifiers) 13 Lebanon
2 Qatar (Host for Qualifiers) 14 India
3 Iraq 15 Kyrgyz Republic
4 Palestine 16 Turkmenistan
5 Jordan 17 Nepal
6 Saudi Arabia (Host for Qualifiers) 18 Bangladesh
7 Syria 19 Afghanistan
8 Oman 20-24 Kuwait (Host for Qualifiers)
9 IR Iran (Host for Qualifiers) 20-24 Maldives
10 UAE 20-24 Pakistan
11 Tajikistan 20-24 Sri Lanka
12 Bahrain (Host for Qualifiers) 20-24 Yemen

EAST Zone by seeding

No. Teams No. Teams
1 Vietnam (Host of Qualifiers) 11 Cambodia (Host of Qualifiers)
2 Korea Republic 12 Indonesia
3 Malaysia (Host of Qualifiers) 13 Timor-Leste
4 Japan 14 Laos
5 DPR Korea 15 Singapore
6 China PR 16 Mongolia (Host of Qualifiers)
7 Australia 17 Brunei Darussalam
8 Thailand 18 Philippines
9 Myanmar (Host of Qualifiers) 19 Chinese Taipei
10 Hong Kong 20 Macau



There shall be six groups of four teams in the West Zone, while five groups of four teams in the East Zone, where they will be battling it out for the 15 spots in the Finals in 2020.

The 11 group winners and four best second-placed teams among all groups shall qualify for the Finals, with the host of the Finals receiving automatic qualification.

In the event that the Host of the Finals decides to participate in the Qualifiers and finishes among the qualified teams to the Finals (either top of the group or one of the four best second-placed teams), the next (fifth) second-placed team in the ranking among all groups will qualify to the Final instead.

The 2020 Qualifiers will be held on March 22-26, 2019.