You are in / Article

Meet the Teams: China PR (Group A)

Beijing: China are the most successful side in the history of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup with a record eight championships to their name, although their last victory came back in 2006.

The East Asians’ dominance was at its peak between 1986 and 1999 when they won all seven continental titles in an era that included legends of the women’s game such as Sun Wen, Pu Wei and Gao Hong. 

China’s first success, on their competition debut, came after a 2-0 victory over Japan in the final and they would go on to make their mark on the global game throughout the 1990s.


See also :

In the 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Sweden they reached the semi-finals, before finishing in the silver medal position at the 1996 Olympic Games a year later after being beaten 2-1 in the final by hosts USA.

Three years later in front of over 90,000 spectators at the Pasadena Rose Bowl in Los Angeles, China were a penalty shootout away from winning the FIFA Women’s World Cup, only to again be denied by the USA in what remains one of the most iconic games in women’s football.

Success slowed somewhat in the 2000s, although the Steel Roses defeated Australia on penalties to lift the 2006 AFC Women’s Asian Cup after goals from Han Duan and Ma Xiaoxu saw them come from two down to force a 2-2 draw.


Four years ago, in Vietnam, China took Japan to extra-time in the semi-finals before losing 2-1, but they did secure automatic qualification to the 2018 edition after Yang Li’s stoppage-time winner saw off Korea Republic 2-1 to claim third place. 

More recently, China took part in the EAFF (East Asian Football Federation) Women’s Championship in Japan at the end of 2017 when they tested themselves against two of the other contenders for the title in Jordan. 

The Chinese opened the tournament with back-to back defeats against DPR Korea and Japan, but closed it with an impressive 3-1 victory over Korea Republic as they ultimately finished third in the standings.

Still one of the most feared sides on the continent, China will be expected to advance to at least the semi-finals – a stage they have never failed to reach – in Jordan.

Should they do so, they will start to eye a ninth continental title as the current generation aim to emulate the legends of the Chinese game that have gone before them.

AFC Women’s Asian Cup Record - Champions: 2006, 1999, 1997, 1995, 1993, 1991, 1989, 1986; Runners-up 2008, 2003; Third 2014, 2001; Fourth 2010

FIFA Women’s World Cup: Runners-up 1999; Fourth 1995; Quarter-Finals 2015, 2007, 2003, 1991

Head Coach: Sigurdur Eyjólfsson (ISL)

Key Players: Wang Shuang, Ma Jun, Wang Shanshan

Group Stage Fixtures

April 6 vs Thailand

April 9 vs Philippines

April 12 vs Jordan

Recommended Stories :