You are in / Article

New venues for AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022™ confirmed 

Kuala Lumpur: The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022™ Local Organising Committee (LOC) have today confirmed the Mumbai Football Arena – Andheri Sports Complex, Mumbai and the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Balewadi, Pune as the new venues and host cities for the Continent’s premier women’s national team competition.

The decision was confirmed taking into careful consideration the existing challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, and as part of efforts to minimise the travelling time for teams and officials between the venues, whilst ensuring the optimum environment to implement the Bio Medical Bubble for the benefit of all stakeholders.

See also :

The 37,900-capacity D.Y. Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai will remain as one of the three stadiums that will stage the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022™ which is on schedule to take place from January 20 to February 6, 2022.

Japan, Australia, China PR and hosts India have already sealed their places in the Finals and the race to join the quartet will take centrestage from September this year when 28 teams across eight groups begin their quest to clinch the eight remaining places in the newly-expanded and biggest-ever edition of the Continental women’s showpiece.

Three-time champions Chinese Taipei, Bahrain, Turkmenistan and Laos have been drawn in Group A, while Group B will see Vietnam, Tajikistan, Maldives and Afghanistan compete for a place in the Finals.

Asian powerhouses and three-time title holders DPR Korea are in Group C alongside Singapore, Iraq and Indonesia with Myanmar, United Arab Emirates, Guam and Lebanon completing the line-up in Group D.

Korea Republic - the 2003 runners-up, Uzbekistan and Mongolia are in Group E, as Philippines, Hong Kong and Nepal prepare to battle in Group F.

Jordan, who hosted the 2018 edition, will be eyeing a second successive appearance in the Finals but will face tough opposition from the Islamic Republic of Iran and Bangladesh in Group G. Meanwhile, Thailand, Palestine and Malaysia will battle for the coveted solitary spot in Group H.

Recommended Stories :