FIFA Women's World Cup
You are in FIFA Women's World Cup  / Article

Continent's elite learn France 2019 path

Saturday, December 8, 2018
Women's World Cup 2019 Draw-FIFA

Paris: Korea Republic will meet hosts France in the opening match, while Australia and Japan will rekindle rivalries from Canada 2015 after an intriguing 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup draw in Paris on Saturday.

China PR and Thailand also discovered their group stage opponents ahead of next year's global Finals, with a number of mouth-watering fixtures decided in the French capital.

See also :

The eyes of the world will be on Yoon Duk-yeo's Korea Republic side when they open the competition against the hosts at the famous Parc des Princes on June 7, with 1995 champions Norway and Nigeria rounding out Group A.

One for your diary โžก๏ธ Friday, June 7th 2019, 21:00 CET

France and Korea Republic will face each other in the opening match of the #FIFAWWC in Paris!

๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท @equipedefrance
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ทย @theKFA

— FIFA Women's World Cup ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท (@FIFAWWC) December 8, 2018

AFC Women's Asian Cup holders and 2011 World Cup winners Japan will begin their campaign against Argentina in Paris, before facing newcomers Scotland with a replay of their 2015 semi-final meeting with England to close their Group D campaign.

Australia will also cross paths with an opponent from their previous campaign in Brazil, with the Matildas set to face Italy and debutants Jamaica in Group C, while China PR were drawn alongside two-time champions Germany, Spain and South Africa in Group B.


Here are your groups for the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019! ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท#FIFAWWC

— FIFA Women's World Cup ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท (@FIFAWWC) December 8, 2018

Completing the Asian contingent, Thailand were placed in a difficult Group F alongside defending world champions the United States, 2016 Olympic silver medallists Sweden and 2018 Copa America Femenina runners-up Chile.

The top two teams in each group will joined by the competition's four best third-placed teams in the Round of 16, with the final to be held at Lyon's Parc Olympique Lyonnais on July 7.

Photo: FIFA via Getty Images

Recommended Stories :