FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022
You are in FIFA World Cup  / Article

Korea Republic to host 2019 EAFF E-1 Football Championship

Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Japan v Korea Republic EAFF E-1 2017 3 -EAFF

Seoul: Korea Republic will host the East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) E-1 Football Championship in 2019 that features both men's and women's national football teams, an official from the Korean Football Association (KFA) said on Tuesday.

The tournament will be held in Korea Republic in 2019, the KFA said, following its rotational order of hosting the four-nation tournament.

"On rotational basis in the order Japan, Korea Republic and China PR, we'll host the 2019 edition of the E-1 Football Championship," a KFA official said.

"Once we receive the presidency from Japan next March, we'll set up office and start preparations for the tournament".

It will be the third time that Korea Republic will host the regional tournament. The country previously staged the football event in 2005 and 2013.

The E-1 Football Championship, previously known as the East Asian Cup, started in 2003. It's a four team round-robin tournament held every two or three years.

For the men's competition, Korea Republic, Japan and China are in the finals and the remaining seven EAFF members will need to play qualifying matches to win the last remaining spot.

The Korean men's national team, led by head coach Shin Tae-yong, will look to defend their title at home in 2019. Last week, the Taeguk Warriors beat Japan 4-1 in their final match and won the 2017 edition of the tournament.

See also :

The women's national football team finished last in this year's tournament with straight losses, but they will be in the finals in 2019 as the tournament hosts. The women's competition also gives automatic spots to the top two teams in FIFA rankings, with one remaining spot going to the team that wins the qualifying stage.

DPR Korea will be looking for their fourth consecutive championship in 2019. They're currently ranked 11th in the world, two spots behind Japan.

Sources: & East Asian Football Federation