You are in / Article

No clear favourites as Iraq prepare to play host

Kuala Lumpur:  The 2019 WAFF Championship promises to be a thriller with nine teams set to battle for the title.

To be hosted by Iraq in Karbala and Arbil on July 30 to August 14, the teams have been divided into two groups.

Iraq, one of three former champions in the ninth edition of the 2019 WAFF Championship, have Syria, Yemen, Palestine and Lebanon for company in Group A.

Iraq won the title in 2002 while Syria were champions in 2012.

See also :

Kuwait, the other former winners in the competition, were champions in 2010.

They are in Group B with Jordan, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain.

The group winners will advance to the final, which will be played at the Karbala International Stadium on August 14.

The 2019 WAFF Championship will be crucial to all nine teams as it will help them hone their competitive edge ahead of Round Two of the Asian Qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar and AFC Asian Cup China 2023.

Group A – Iraq (hosts), Yemen, Syria, Palestine, Lebanon
Group B – Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain

Recommended Stories :