You are in / Article

Matildas to play Chile

Sydney: Australia will play their first matches on home soil since the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 when they face Chile in a two-match series in November.

Head coach Ante Milicic welcomed confirmation that his team will take on the rising South American nation as Australia begins to set their sights on qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

“It is fantastic that we have been able to secure these international friendlies. Chile performed admirably in a difficult group at this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France and will provide a strong challenge for us as we seek to develop as a unit leading up to our Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualifiers which commence in February next year," said Milicic.

See also :

The third round of qualifying will involve eight teams - Australia, Chinese Taipei, China PR, DPR Korea, Korea Republic, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam - divided into two groups.

China PR and Korea Republic will each host one group with two teams to ultimately join hosts Japan as Asia's representatives at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

The draw mechanism will be announced in due course.

Photo: AFP

Recommended Stories :