تحت الأضواء
كوريا الجنوبية

مسيرة كروية طويلة: تشا دو-ري


٢٠/٠٤/١٨
cha du ri kor 8x4 jpg

سيؤول - ابن أحد أعظم لاعبي قارة آسيا، الدولي الكوري الجنوبي السابق ومدافع فريق سيؤول، تشا دو-ري، يتأمل في مسيرته الكروية التي امتدت على مدار 14 عاماً، وكيف خرج أخيراً من ظل والده المعروف.


واجه تشا دو-ري وقتاً عصيباً في الارتقاء إلى مستوى إرث والده تشا بوم-كون، هدّاف كوريا الجنوبية على مرّ العصور بأكثر من 50 هدفاً خلال أكثر من 120 مباراة دولية، الفائز بكأس الاتحاد الأوروبي مرتين وصاحب عدد من الأرقام القياسية في الدوري الألماني، حيث يحظى تشا بوم-كون بالترحاب على نطاق واسع باعتباره أحد أعظم اللاعبين في آسيا على الإطلاق.

المسيرة التي امتدت لمدة 14 عاماً كمحترف جلبت جوائز خاصة إلى تشا دو-ري من خلال سيرة ذاتية مثيرة مميزة في حد ذاتها: نهائي كأس آسيا 2015، نهائي دوري أبطال آسيا 2013، كأس آسيا 2011، ناهيك عن الظهور في كأس العالم عامي 2002 و2010.

أنظر أيضا :


وقال تشا: في بعض الأحيان كنت أغار من والدي.. ما حققه كان مثل هذا الجدار الكبير أمامي من حيث المسيرة الكروية. كان والدي دائماً ملهمي كلاعب كرة قدم؛ أردت أن أصبح عظيماً مثله.

ترك تشا بوم-كون بصمته على عالم كرة القدم في ألمانيا، مع فترات ناجحة بشكل كبير في كل من آينتراخت فرانكفورت وباير ليفركوزن، حيث كان يعرف باسم "تشا بوم" بسبب سرعته وقدرته على تسديد الكرة بطريقة رائعة، وعندما كان هناك أيضاً، وتحديداً في 25 تموز/يوليو 1980، ولد تشا.

نتيجة صغر سنه لا يتذكر مرحلة تألق والده في فرانكفورت والتي انتهت بالانتقال في عام 1983 إلى ليفركوزن، إلا أنه لا يزال بإمكان تشا يذكر أيامه التي نشأ فيها في ألمانيا الغربية حيث كان والده يتحدث عن المدينة وعن مآثره باللون الأحمر والأسود في باير من 1983 إلى 1989.

ويتذكر تشا قائلاً: كانت أيام الاثنين في المدرسة تعتمد إلى حدٍ كبير على أداء والدي خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. إذا لعب بشكل جيد، شعرت بالفخر حقاً وربما كنت متفاخراً قليلاً في الصف. إذا لم يكن رائعاً، كنت أكثر هدوءاً قليلاً وكان الجو مختلفاً تماماً.

وأضاف: في تلك الأيام، لم تكن هناك أجهزة ألعاب أو إنترنت كما هو الحال اليوم، لذلك كانت كرة القدم للأطفال الصغار في ألمانيا هي الترفيه حقاً وكل ما تحدثنا عنه - كان حلم كل شاب أن يصبح لاعب كرة قدم.

وتابع: في كل مكان ذهبت إليه عائلتي، رحب بنا الكثير من الناس وأعطوني انطباعاً إيجابياً لدرجة أنني أتذكر أنني كنت أفكر حينها أنه إذا أصبحت لاعب كرة قدم، فهل سأحصل على هذا النوع من الترحيب أينما ذهبت.

على الرغم من ذلك، مكان واحد كان تشا الصغير غير مرحب به، ألا وهو في مدرجات ستاد أولريش هابرلاند، حيث اعتقدت والدته، أوه إيون-مي، أن الطفل سيكون مصدر إلهاء لأبيه.

وهكذا كان على تشا أن يتعامل مع مشاهدة المباريات على شاشة التلفاز، بما في ذلك رؤية والده يسجل رأسية حاسمة لليفركوزن في مباراة الإياب النهائية لكأس الاتحاد الأوروبي عام 1988 حيث نجح الفريق الألماني في رفع اللقب القاري.

في عام 1991، مع اعتزال تشا بوم-كون اللعب، وتلقيه عرض كمدير للفريق الكوري الجنوبي أولسان هيونداي، غادرت العائلة ألمانيا إلى كوريا حيث كان عليهم أن يتأقلموا مع الحياة في آسيا.

Eine #Bayer04Legende feiert heute seinen 6️⃣5️⃣. Geburtstag! 🎂🎈🎊

Wir wünschen dir nur das Beste, Bum-Kun #Cha. 🖤❤️#HappyBirthday #Bayer04 #Werkself pic.twitter.com/wEqI8Us9f2

— Bayer 04 Leverkusen (@bayer04fussball) May 22, 2018

عزم تشا بالفعل على اتباع خطى والده كلاعب كرة قدم محترف، حيث شق طريقه من خلال الفرق المدرسية قبل قبوله في جامعة كوريا في سيؤول في عام 1999. هناك، أظهر بالفعل امتلاكه قوة والده باعتباره قوة بدنية في الأمام، نال تشا اهتمام مدرب المنتخب الكوري جوس هيدينك وعمره 21 عاماً، وهو لا يزال هاوياً، ظهر لأول مرة مع منتخب كوريا في مباراة ودّية ضد السنغال في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2001.

بقي تشا في مخططات هيدينك، وعندما تم الإعلان عن تشكيلة كأس العالم 2002 التي استضافتها اليابان وكوريا الجنوبية، تم تسميته من بين 23 لاعباً في قائمة المدرب الهولندي.

وقال تشا: لقد فوجئت حقاً باستدعائي للمنتخب الوطني في تلك الحقبة. في ذلك الوقت شعر الجميع أنه يجب علي أولاً الذهاب إلى الجامعة والتخرج قبل اللعب بشكل احترافي، لذا كان الأمر مثيراً حقاً للاعب مثلي لم يتخرج بعد ليتم استدعاؤه للمشاركة في كأس العالم.

وأوضح: أخبرني المدرب أنه بحاجة إلي لأنني كنت سريعاً جداً ولدي بنية جسدية جيدة. عندما استمرت المباراة الأولى أمام بولندا لبعض الوقت وكان الناس يتعبون، اعتقد المدرب أنه يمكنني أن أكون خياراً مختلفاً من على مقاعد البدلاء.

وأردف: من الواضح أنني كنت سعيداً بالاختيار، ولكن في نفس الوقت كان هناك الكثير من الجدل حولي لأنني لم ألعب أبداً للمنتخب الوطني للشباب ولم يكن لدي اهتمام دولي كبير. ولكن نتيجة لكل هذا التحامل، رأيت أنه تحدٍ يجب التغلب عليه.

على الرغم من أن تشا لعب دوراً متأخّراً فقط في المباراة الافتتاحية لكوريا المنتصرة ضد بولندا، إلا أنه قام بعمل مميز ضد إيطاليا حيث حقق فريق محاربي التايغوك فوزاً تاريخياً في الوقت الإضافي من اللقاء ضمن دور الـ16، قبل أن يلعب أساسياً خلال الخسارة 0-1 أمام ألمانيا في قبل النهائي. وكذلك، الدخول كبديل أمام تركيا في مباراة تحديد صاحب المركز الثالث.

وقال تشا: لقد كان حلم بالنسبة لي اللعب في كأس العالم في كوريا. في ذلك الوقت، لم يكن لدي الكثير من الفرص للتفكير في المباريات وكأس العالم نفسها، حاولت فقط أن أبذل قصارى جهدي في كل مرة أتيحت لي فيها فرصة اللعب.

وأضاف: بعد كأس العالم، أدرك العديد من اللاعبين كم كان الأمر جنونياً. ما مدى الاهتمام بنا وكيف بقي الناس حولنا. لا أتذكر أنني دفعت ثمن أي وجبة في المطاعم!

بعد النجاح الذي حققه في وطنه، عاد تشا إلى ألمانيا مع الانتقال إلى ليفركوزن، واعتماداً على إيمانه الذاتي بعد تجربته في كأس العالم، كان يتطلع إلى اتخاذ المسار التالي في مسيرته الكروية.

وكشف تشا الذي تم إرساله لأول مرة على سبيل الإعارة إلى أرمينيا بيلفيلد قبل فترة إعارة في نادي آخر من الأندية التي لعب فيها والده سابقاً، فرانكفورت: كنت صغيراً وواثقاً في ذلك الوقت، وحتى عندما كنت شاباً في كوريا، كنت أعتقد دائماً أنني سأعود إلى ألمانيا واللعب في الدوري الألماني، لذلك لم أشعر بأي ضغط بسبب أن والدي كان لاعباً مشهوراً في ليفركوزن.

وتابع: ولكن مع مرور الوقت في ليفركوزن بدأ الواقع في الانهيار وأدركت كم كان والدي رائعاً، وتبين لي مدى صعوبة الارتقاء إلى ما فعله في النادي، وبدأ يثقلني.

لم تجلب مهامه مع المنتخب الوطني سوى القليل من البهجة عندما خرجت كوريا من ربع النهائي عقب الخسارة أمام إيران في كأس آسيا 2004 في الصين، مما جعل الكوريين يشعرون بخيبة أمل خاصة أن فريقهم هو الذي حلّ قبل عامين في المركز الرابع في كأس العالم.

بعد أن فشل في حجز مكانه في التشكيلة الأساسية في فريق ليفركوزن، انتقل تشا إلى فرانكفورت وكان هناك، بناء على نصيحة المدرب فريدهلم فونكل، حيث تخلى في النهاية عن مهامه في اللعب كمهاجم حر والتسجيل وهو الدور الذي كان والده يمارسه، وتحول إلى اليمين - وذلك قبل موسم 2005-2006.

وقال: بما أنني لم أكن أحرز أهدافاً، فقد تعرضت لضغط كبير. كنت أعاني من جفاف حاد أمام المرمى وشعرت في كل مباراة بالتوتر الشديد لدرجة أنني لم أستطع اللعب بكامل طاقتي.

وتابع: اقترح فونكيل أن أنتقل إلى الظهير الأيمن واستغلال سرعتي وقدراتي البدنية. لقد قل الضغط بشكل كبير ويمكنني الآن أن أبدأ باللعب بكامل إمكانياتي.

View this post on Instagram

내가 정말 좋아하는 한명의 선수가 은퇴를 한다 😭Bastian Schweinsteiger 👍👍 브라질 월드컵 결승에서 보여준 그의 경기는 많은 어린선수들이 보고배워야 할 것이다! 최강 멘탈 💪 Schweini du bist eine Legende ⚽️ @bastianschweinsteiger #legende #fussballgott 한국축구 #우연히만들어지는것은없다 #한국축구뿌리부터튼튼히 #🇰🇷⚽️🌱💪

A post shared by 차두리 공식계정 (@chaduri_official) on

لكن تشا غاب عن منتخب كوريا الجنوبية في كأس العالم 2006، وهو مصدر إحباط خاص بسبب تواجده في البلد المضيف، وفشل خلال الفترة اللاحقة خلال اللعب في ماينز وفريق الدرجة الثانية الألماني كوبلنتس في تحقيق النجاح الذي كان يتوق إليه أيضاً. وهو ما أبعده عن المنتخب الكوري أيضاً في كأس آسيا 2007 حيث ستحتل كوريا المركز الثالث.

أثبت الانتقال إلى فرايبورغ الصاعد حديثاً قبل موسم 2009-2010 أنه أكثر فائدة، ومع ذلك، أداءه الثابت هناك جعل المنتخب الكوري يتذكره قبل كأس العالم 2010 في جنوب أفريقيا، حيث لعب تشا دور البطولة لمنتخب بلاده قبل أن يخسر أمام أوروغواي في دور الـ16 من البطولة.

أكسبت عروض تشا في جنوب إفريقيا الانتقال إلى سلتيك الاسكتلندي، حيث سينضم إلى مواطنه كي سونغ-يونغ في غلاسكو.

تألق تشا في ستاد سلتيك بارك، حيث لعب لموسمين وكان جزءاً من الفريق الذي رفع كأس اسكتلندا في عام 2011 وبطولة الدوري في عام 2012.

يتذكر قائلاً: لقد استمتعت كثيراً في اسكتلندا. سلتيك فريق كبير وأجواء ستاد سلتيك بارك جميلة جداً - لقد كان شرفا لي أن ألعب هناك كلاعب كرة قدم وكان من الرائع اللعب هناك مع كي سونغ-يونغ.

وتابع: في مباراة ضد سانت جونستون، في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2010، سجلت أنا وكي سونغ-يويغ هدفين متأخرين لنساهم في تحقيق نتيجة الفوز 2-0، أعتقد أنها المباراة الأولى وربما الأخيرة التي سيسجل فيها كوريان في ستاد سلتيك بارك لصالح سيلتيك، ومن وقت لآخر ما زلنا نتحدث عن هذه المباراة.

ذهب تشا وكي للعب كل مباراة من مباريات كأس آسيا 2011 مع منتخب كوريا، الفريق الذي مزج تجربة كأس العالم لكرة القدم لعام 2002 من بارك جي-سونغ ، ولي يونغ-بيو وتشا مع المواهب الشابة كي، جي دونغ-وون وهدّاف البطولة كو جا-تشول؛ بالإضافة إلى إعطاء النجم المستقبلي سون هيونغ-مين تجربته الدولية الأولى.

وقال تشا: كان فريقنا في كأس آسيا 2011 في قطر أفضل فريق لعبت معه على الإطلاق سواء من الناحية التكتيكية أو من حيث العاملين في المنتخب.

وأردف: كان هناك لاعبون أصغر سناً، لذلك كنت هناك كمثال يحتذى به ويُمكنني قراءة المباريات ورؤيتها أفضل بكثير من وجهة نظر تكتيكية - كنت أكثر نضجا كلاعب كرة قدم.

وواصل: لذا عندما خسرنا في الدور قبل النهائي ضد اليابان بفارق ركلات الترجيح، كانت واحدة من أكثر المباريات المخيبة للآمال على الإطلاق.

انتهى وقت تشا في سيلتيك في حزيران/يونيو 2012 وعاد إلى ألمانيا مع فورتونا دوسلدورف.

ولكن عقب خيبة الأمل التي تبعت هذه الخطوة، بدأ تشا في التفكير في الاعتزال المبكر قبل أن يجري مناقشة مع صديق مقرب وزميل سابق في كأس العالم 2002 تشوي يونغ-سو، مدرب سيؤول، أدى إلى عودته إلى العاصمة الكورية في آذار/مارس 2013 في صفقة لمدة عامين.

View this post on Instagram

쌍코피가 터져도🥴 퐈이팅 있게 싸우면 💪 마지막에 반드시 웃을거야 😆 독수리가 있자나 🦅 항상 응원한다 FC 서울 🐙❤️⚽️ #한국축구뿌리부터튼튼히 #🇰🇷⚽️🌱💪

A post shared by 차두리 공식계정 (@chaduri_official) on

أثبت تبديل القارات أنه مفيد لتشا وساعد فريق سيؤول على الوصول إلى المباراة النهائية لدوري أبطال آسيا 2013، حيث حلوا في المركز الثاني بعد الخسارة أمام غوانغزهو إيفرغراند في الصين، وكذلك الوصول إلى قبل نهائي البطولة القارية في العام التالي.

بعد ذلك، قام تشا الذي أعيد استدعاءه لتشكيلة منتخب كوريا الجنوبية تحت قيادة المدرب أولي شتيليكه في كأس آسيا 2015 بعد استبعاده من كأس العالم 2014، واستغل سنوات خبرته لإثبات قوته مع المنتخب. الملقب بـ"شاميناتور" ساعد منتخب بلاده لبلوغ المباراة النهائية، وخسر فقط أمام أستراليا المضيفة بعد اللجوء إلى الأشواط الإضافية.

أثبتت البطولة القارية أنها نقطة النهاية لتشا بألوان منتخب بلاده، وفي آذار/مارس لعب مباراته الدولية الأخيرة من مواجهة ودية ضد نيوزيلندا مع انضمام والده إليه بين الشوطين في احتفال خاص تكريماً لمسيرته الكروية.

وقال تشا: في كوريا الجنوبية، اللعب كلاعب منتخب هو عبء كبير. عندما تبلي بلاءً حسناً، يكون هناك الكثير من الحب، ولكن عندما تلعب بشكل سيئ هناك الكثير من الانتقادات. لكنني أشعر بسعادة كبيرة لأنني قادر على الاعتزال ولدي حب المشجعين.

وأضاف: بفضل صديقي تشوي يونغ-سوو وفريق سيؤول تم اختياري في كأس آسيا 2015 وإنهاء مسيرتي الدولية بهذه الطريقة الرائعة.

وختم: الآن يمكنني أن أعود بذاكرتي إلى مسيرتي الكروية، وأشعر بالسعادة لأنني ووالدي لعبنا كلاعبين وطنيين لكوريا الجنوبية، ووضعنا آثار أقدامنا في كرة القدم الكورية.

أخبار مقترحة :

Spotlight
Korea Republic

The Long Read: Cha Du-ri


Saturday, April 18, 2020
cha du ri kor 8x4 jpg

Seoul: The son of one of Asia’s greatest players, former Korea Republic and FC Seoul defender Cha Du-ri reflects on his his 14-year career and how he finally stepped out of the shadow of his famous father.


Cha Du-ri had a harder time than most in living up to his father’s legacy. Korea Republic’s all-time leading scorer with over 50 goals from more than 120 international matches, winner of two UEFA Cups and holder of a number of Bundesliga records, Cha Bum-kun is hailed far and wide as one of Asia’s greatest ever players.

A 14-year career as a professional brought its own accolades to Cha with a CV that is impressive in its own right: 2015 AFC Asian Cup finalist, 2013 AFC Champions League finalist, 2011 AFC Asian Cup third place, not to mention appearing in the 2002 and 2010 FIFA World Cups.

See also :


“Sometimes I hated my father. What he had achieved was such a big wall in front of me in terms of career,” admitted Cha. “My father was always my goal as a football player; I wanted to become great like him.”

Cha Bum-kun made his mark on the footballing world in Germany, with hugely successful spells at both Eintracht Frankfurt and Bayer Leverkusen, where he was affectionately known as “Cha Boom” due to his pace and thunderous ball striking ability, and it was there, too, that on 25 July 1980, Cha was born.

Although too young to remember his father’s spell at Frankfurt that ended with a transfer in 1983 to Leverkusen, Cha can still recall his days growing up in West Germany where his father was the talk of the town for his exploits in the red and black of Bayer from 1983 to 1989.

“My Mondays at school were very much dependent on how my father did over the weekend. If he played well, I felt really proud and was maybe a little boastful in class; but if he didn’t do great, then I was a bit quieter and the atmosphere was quite different,” recalled Cha.

“In those days, there were no games' consoles or internet like there is today, so for young kids in Germany, football was really the main entertainment and all we talked about – it was every youngster’s dream to become a footballer.

“Everywhere my family went, a lot of people welcomed us and gave me such a positive impression that I remember thinking then that if you become a football player you will get this kind of welcome wherever you go.”

One place the young Cha was unwelcome, though, was in the stands at the Ulrich Haberland Stadion, where his mother, Oh Eun-mi, believed the child would be a distraction for his father.

And so Cha had to make do with watching the matches on television, including seeing his father score a crucial header for Leverkusen in the 1988 UEFA Cup final second leg as the Bundesliga side went on to lift the continental title.

In 1991, with Cha Bum-kun retired from playing, and offered a job as manager of K-League side Ulsan Hyundai, the family left Germany for Korea Republic where they had to reacclimatise to life in Asia.

Eine #Bayer04Legende feiert heute seinen 6️⃣5️⃣. Geburtstag! 🎂🎈🎊

Wir wünschen dir nur das Beste, Bum-Kun #Cha. 🖤❤️#HappyBirthday #Bayer04 #Werkself pic.twitter.com/wEqI8Us9f2

— Bayer 04 Leverkusen (@bayer04fussball) May 22, 2018

Already intent on following in his father’s footsteps as a professional footballer, Cha worked his way through school teams before being accepted at Seoul’s Korea University in 1999. There, already hinting at possessing the power of his father as a physically imposing forward, Cha caught the attention of national team head coach Guus Hiddink and at 21 years old, still an amateur, he made his Korea Republic debut in a friendly against Senegal in November 2001.

Cha remained in Hiddink’s plans and when the squad for the 2002 FIFA World Cup jointly hosted by Japan and Korea Republic was announced, he was named among the Dutchman’s 23.

“I was really surprised to be called up for the national team in that era. Back then everyone felt you must first go to university and graduate before playing professionally, so it was really sensational for a player like me who hadn’t yet graduated to be called up,” said Cha.

“The coach told me that he needed me because I was really fast and physically well-built. When the match had gone on for a while and people are getting tired, I could be a different option from the bench.

“I was obviously happy about the selection, but simultaneously there was a lot of controversy about it because I had never played for the youth national team and had little international exposure. But as a result of all this prejudice, I saw it as a challenge to overcome.”

Although Cha played just a late cameo in Korea Republic’s victorious opener against Poland, he saw action against Italy in the Taeguk Warriors’ famous extra-time win in the Round of 16 before making his first start in the 1-0 loss to Germany in the semi-final, as well as coming off the bench against Turkey in the third place play-off.

“It was a dream to play in the World Cup in Korea. At the time, I didn’t have much chance to really think about the matches and the World Cup itself, I just tried to do my best each time I got a chance to play,” said Cha.

“After the World Cup, it was then that a lot of players realised how crazy it all was; how much attention there was on us, and how people followed us around. I have no memory of paying for any meals in restaurants!”

Following the success at home, Cha returned to Germany with a move to Leverkusen, and high on self-belief after his FIFA World Cup experience, he looked to take the next path in his footballing journey.

“I was young and confident back then and even as a youngster in Korea, I always thought I’d return to Germany and play in the Bundesliga, so I felt no pressure that my father had been a famous player at Leverkusen,” revealed Cha, who was first sent on loan to Arminia Bielefeld before a loan spell at another of his father’s former clubs, Frankfurt.

“But as time passed at Leverkusen – one year became three years – reality began to sink in and I realised how great a player my father was, how hard it was to live up to what he’d done at the club, and it began to weigh me down.”

National team duties also brought little solace as a quarter-final exit to the Islamic Republic of Iran at the 2004 AFC Asian Cup in China PR proved a disappointment for a team that two years earlier had finished fourth at the FIFA World Cup.

Having failed to break into the Leverkusen first team, Cha moved permanently to Frankfurt and it was there, under the advice of coach Friedhelm Funkel, that he eventually gave up trying to be the free-scoring forward his father had been and switched to right-back ahead of the 2005/06 season.

“As I wasn’t scoring goals, I was under a lot of pressure. I was suffering a bad goal drought and in each game I felt so tense that I couldn’t play at my full capacity,” he said.

“Funkel suggested I move to right-back and harness my speed and physical attributes. The pressure lifted immensely and I could begin to play with all my ability.”

View this post on Instagram

내가 정말 좋아하는 한명의 선수가 은퇴를 한다 😭Bastian Schweinsteiger 👍👍 브라질 월드컵 결승에서 보여준 그의 경기는 많은 어린선수들이 보고배워야 할 것이다! 최강 멘탈 💪 Schweini du bist eine Legende ⚽️ @bastianschweinsteiger #legende #fussballgott 한국축구 #우연히만들어지는것은없다 #한국축구뿌리부터튼튼히 #🇰🇷⚽️🌱💪

A post shared by 차두리 공식계정 (@chaduri_official) on

Cha, however, missed out on Korea Republic’s 2006 FIFA World Cup squad, a source of particular frustration due to his presence in the host country, and subsequent spells at Mainz and German second division side TuS Koblenz failed to bring the success he craved, as well as an extended period away from the national team which saw him miss the 2007 AFC Asian Cup where Korea Republic would go on to finish third.

A move to newly promoted SC Freiburg ahead of the 2009/10 season proved more fruitful though, and his consistent form there saw him recalled to the Korea Republic squad ahead of the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, where he starred for his nation before they lost to Uruguay in the last 16 of the tournament.

Cha’s performances in South Africa earned him a move to Scotland’s Celtic, where he would join up with countryman Ki Sung-yueng in Glasgow.

A cult hero at Celtic Park, Cha played two seasons and was part of the side that lifted the Scottish Cup in 2011 and the league championship in 2012.

“I had so much fun in Scotland,” he recalled. “Celtic is a big team and Celtic Park is a beautiful stadium – it was such an honour for me to play there as a football player and great to play there with Ki Sung-yueng.

“In one match against St. Johnstone, in December 2010, both me and Ki Sung-yueng scored late goals to make the score 2-0 – I think it’s the first and maybe last game that two Koreans will score at Celtic Park for Celtic, from time to time we still talk about this match.”

Cha and Ki went on to play every match of Korea Republic’s 2011 AFC Asian Cup campaign in a side that melded the 2002 FIFA World Cup experience of Park Ji-sung, Lee Young-pyo and Cha with young talents in Ki, Ji Dong-won and tournament top scorer Koo Ja-cheol; as well as giving future star Son Heung-min a first taste of international competition.

“The 2011 AFC Asian Cup side in Qatar was the best team I’ve ever played in, both tactically and in terms of personnel,” said Cha.

“There were younger players around, so I was there as more of a role model and could read and see the games a lot better from a tactical point of view – I was much more mature as a football player."

“So when we lost the semi-final against Japan on penalties, it was one of the most disappointing games ever for me.”

Cha’s time at Celtic ended in June 2012 and he returned to Germany with Fortuna Dusseldorf.

But disillusioned with how the move panned out, Cha began to consider an early retirement before a discussion with close friend and former 2002 FIFA World Cup roommate Choi Yong-soo, the coach at FC Seoul, resulted in his return to the Korean capital in March 2013 on a two-year deal.

View this post on Instagram

쌍코피가 터져도🥴 퐈이팅 있게 싸우면 💪 마지막에 반드시 웃을거야 😆 독수리가 있자나 🦅 항상 응원한다 FC 서울 🐙❤️⚽️ #한국축구뿌리부터튼튼히 #🇰🇷⚽️🌱💪

A post shared by 차두리 공식계정 (@chaduri_official) on

The switch of continents proved beneficial for Cha and he helped FC Seoul reach the final of the 2013 AFC Champions League where they finished as runners-up to China’s Guangzhou Evergrande, as well as reaching the semi-finals of the continental club championship the following year.

A re-energised Cha then made the squad for Uli Stieleke’s Korea Republic at the 2015 AFC Asian Cup after being left out of the 2014 FIFA World Cup side, and he rolled back the years to demonstrate the power and pace down the flanks that had earned him the nickname ‘Chaminator’ as he helped his country to the final, only losing to hosts Australia after extra-time.

The continental tournament proved to be the swansong for Cha in his nation’s colours, and in March he played his last game in a friendly against New Zealand with his father joining him at half-time in a special ceremony to commemorate his career.

“In Korea, playing as a national player is such a burden. When you do well there is a lot of love, but when you do badly there is a lot of criticism. But I feel so happy that I am able to retire with the fans' love,” added Cha.

“It is thanks to my friend Choi Yong-soo and FC Seoul that I was able to be selected for the 2015 AFC Asian Cup and finish my international career in this great way.

“Now I can look back on my career and I feel happy that me and my father played as national players for Korea, and that we both made our own footprints in Korean football.”

This article was originally published in AFC Quarterly Issue 12, October 2015

Photos: Korea Football Association, Eintracht Frankfurt, Bayer Leverkusen, FIFA

Recommended Stories :