You are in / Article

AFC Champions League 2018 draw concluded

Kuala Lumpur: Recent runners-up Al Hilal discovered their Group Stage opponents for the 2018 edition of the AFC Champions League following the competition’s official draw in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

The Saudi Arabian giants, who lost to Urawa Red Diamonds over two legs in this year’s final, will begin their latest continental campaign in the West Zone’s Group D where they have Esteghlal from the Islamic Republic of Iran, Qatar’s Al Rayyan and the Play-off 1 winner for company.

In the East Zone, two-time winners Guangzhou Evergrande begin their latest continental campaign from Group G and are set to face Jeju United from the Korea Republic, Thailand’s Buriram United and a yet to be determined Japanese side.

The fixtures for the Preliminary and Play-off stages – as well as the clubs competing in them – were also confirmed at the event.


Group A

Al Jazira (UAE)

Al Ahli Saudi FC (KSA)

Tractorsazi Tabriz (IRN)

Winner of Play-off 3 (WEST)

Group B

Al Duhail SC (QAT)

Al Wahda (UAE)

PFC Lokomotiv (UZB)

Winner of Play-off 2 (WEST)

Group C

Persepolis FC (IRN)

Al Sadd SC (QAT)

Al Wasl (UAE)

Winner of Play-off 4 (WEST)

Group D

Al Hilal SFC (KSA)

Esteghlal FC (IRN)

Al Rayyan SC (QAT)

Winner of Play-off 1 (WEST)


Group E

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors FC (KOR)

Kitchee SC (HKG)

Winner of Play-off 4 (EAST)

Winner of Play-off 2 (EAST)

Group F

Kawasaki Frontale (JPN)

Ulsan Hyundai FC (KOR)

Melbourne Victory (AUS)

Winner of Play-off 3 (EAST)

Group G

Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN)

Japan 2nd Club

Jeju United FC (KOR)

Buriram United (THA)

Group H

Sydney FC (AUS)

Shanghai Shenhua FC (CHN)

Kashima Antlers (JPN)

Winner of Play-off 1 (EAST)

AFC Champions League 2017 Preliminary Stage & Play-off Schedule

WEST Play-off Stage (January 30, 2018)

PO 1 - Al Ain (UAE) v Malkiya Club (BHR)

PO 2 - Zobahan FC (IRN) v Aizawl FC (IND)

PO 3 - Al Gharafa SC (QAT) v Uzbekistan 3rd Club

PO 4 - Uzbekistan 2nd Club v Al Faisaly (JOR)

East Preliminary Stage 1 (January 16, 2018)

PS 1.1 - FLC Thanh Hoa (VIE) v Bye

PS 1.2 - Johor Darul Ta'zim (MAS) v Bye

PS 1.3 - Bali United (IDN) v Tampines Rovers FC (SIN)

PS 1.4 - Shan United (MYA) v Ceres Negros (PHI)

East Preliminary Stage 2 (January 23, 2018)

PS 2.1 - Eastern Sc (HKG) v FLC Thanh Hoa

PS 2.2 - Muangthong United (THA) v Johor Darul Ta'zim (MAS)

PS 2.3 - Chiangrai United (THA) v Winner PS 1.3

PS 2.4 - Brisbane Roar (AUS) v Winner PS 1.4

East Play-off Stage (January 30, 2018)

PO 1 - Suwon Samsung Bluewings (KOR) v Winner PS 2.1

PO 2 - Japan 4th Club v Winner PS 2.2

PO 3 - Shanghai Sipg (CHN) v Winner PS 2.3

PO 4 - Tianjin Quanjian FC (CHN) v Winner PS 2.4