AIFF Executive Committee declares Mohun Bagan champions

New Delhi: The All India Football Federation has declared the conclusion of the 2019-20 I-League season with Mohun Bagan named champions.

AIFF’s Executive Committee endorsed the League Committee's recommendations in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The Executive Committee agreed with the conclusions and the recommendations of the League Committee that this was a force majeure circumstance and the AIFF and all stakeholders must focus on a priority basis on safety and health aspects of players, officials and fans. In fact, there is still no certainty of when sporting activities including football can be resumed across the country,” said the AIFF in a media release.

See also :

There will be no relegation and the prize money — apart from Mohun Bagan’s share — will be given equally to the remaining 10 teams.

All youth leagues in the current season — the Sub-Junior League, the Junior League, the Elite League, and the U-17 India Girls League — have also been concluded due to coronavirus outbreak and will start afresh from 2020-21 season.

Recommended Stories :