Diawara strike seals Mohun Bagan I-League title

Kalyani: Mohun Bagan soared to their second I-League crown in five seasons after defeating Aizawl FC 1-0 at the Kalyani Stadium on Tuesday.

Former La Liga striker Papa Babacar Diawara’s 10th strike from nine consecutive games secured Mohun Bagan the win over Aizawl and the league title with four matches still to play.

See also :

In winning the title with four matches to play, Mohun Bagan matched Dempo Sporting Club’s record. Dempo achieved the feat when they sealed the I-League in 2009-10.

Diawara's 80th minute strike means Mohun Bagan have an unassailable 39-point tally.

They will face cross-city rivals Quess East Bengal in the famous ‘Kolkata Derby’ on Sunday.

Source: All India Football Federation

Recommended Stories :