AFC Congress

29th AFC Congress concludes in Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur: The 29th Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Congress concluded on Saturday with AFC President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa (Bahrain) re-elected unopposed for a second four-year term (2019-2023) at the helm of a new-look AFC Executive Committee.

Newly-elected FIFA Council member Praful Patel, addressing delegates on behalf of the AFC President who was mourning the demise of his mother, said: “I am extremely honoured at the level of support and trust that you have invested in me to lead the Asian football family again in the next four years.

“I am sure that with your continued support and solidarity, we can all take Asian football to even greater heights.

“I also am grateful for all your declarations of support and your endorsements in recent weeks.

“And to all those elected for the various roles – FIFA Council, AFC Vice President, Female representatives and AFC Executive Committee – congratulations."

See also :

“The hard work begins now. We have great foundations on which to build the future of our game in Asia, but the last four years have shown that success will only come through commitment.

“In Asia and, particularly here at the AFC, we have built a positive reputation and image in the last six years. It has been an honour to serve as your President for the last six years and now I am looking to continue our work together.

“As I have said many times – this is Asia’s time.”

The elections for the AFC Female Executive Committee member (Central Zone), which were not contested during the 29th AFC Congress, will be held at a later date.

Election Results

AFC President and FIFA Senior Vice President
H.E. Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa (Bahrain)



FIFA Council

HE Du Zhaocai (China PR)
Mr. Praful Patel (India)
Mr. Kohzo Tashima (Japan)
Mr. Mariano V. Araneta, Jr. (Philippines)
Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)

Female member Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Bangladesh)



AFC Vice Presidents

West Zone
Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)

Central Zone
Mr. Mehdi Taj (Islamic Republic of Iran)

South Zone
Mr. Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan)

Mr. Zaw Zaw (Myanmar)

East Zone
Mr. Ganbaatar Amgalanbaatar (Mongolia)



AFC Executive Committee

West Zone
Mr. Abed-Alkhaliq Masoud Ahmed (Iraq)
Mr. Hachem Haider (Lebanon)
Mr. Salem Said Salem Al Wahaibi (Oman)
Dr Hamid Mohammed Ali Al-Shaibani (Yemen)

Central Zone
Mr. Sayed Ali Reza Aghazada (Afghanistan)

South Zone
Mr. Dasho Ugen Tsechup Dorji (Bhutan)

Mr. Chris Nikou (Australia)
Dato' Haji Hamidin Bin Haji Mohd Amin (Malaysia)
Dr. Tran Quoc Tuan (Vietnam)

East Zone
Mr. Fok Kai Shan Eric (Hong Kong)



Female representatives on AFC Executive Committee

West Zone
Ms. Susan R. A. Alshalabi (Palestine)

Central Zone
(To be contested at a later date)

South Zone
Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Bangladesh)

Ms. Kanya Keomany (Laos)

East Zone
Ms. Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea)