Domestic Leagues

New milestone for Chinese Taipei football

Taipei: The Chinese Taipei Football Association (CTFA) has achieved yet another milestone with the establishment of the 2020 Chinese Taipei Football League Division 2 that kicked off on July 18.

The achievement comes just weeks after launching its first edition of the CTFA Youth League, which comprises the U-15 and U-18 division.

See also :

The Division 2 league has eight participating teams, Playone NTNU, Taiwan CPC FC, Inter Taoyuan, S.F.I, FC Kaohsiung, TJ.FC, ACA and Pakarongay. It is a centralised tournament aimed at bringing players closer to a first-team experience, and consists two round of robin matches.

At the end of the season, the top-ranked team will advance to the Chinese Taipei Premier League, and the runners-up team will play a two-legged play-off against the seventh ranked team in the TPL to determine promotion and relegation.

CTFA General Secretary Ching-Jen Fang said: “The establishment of the 2020 Chinese Taipei Football League Division 2 is one of the must-accomplish and most important goals set by CTFA President I-Jen Chiou.

“The league was originally scheduled to kick off in mid-April, but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We hope the establishment of this league will further lead to a more complete Chinese Taipei football league system.”

Oliver Lazarus, head coach of Inter Taoyuan - who opened their season with a 3-1 win over TJ.FC - said: “The establishment of the league is a great milestone for Chinese Taipei football, it will most certainly help all football teams and players, and further foster the growth of the league.”

Sources: Chinese Taipei Football Association

Recommended Stories :