Domestic Leagues

Peerless Persepolis seal fourth consecutive Iran Pro League title

Masjed Soleyman: Persepolis FC are the champions of Islamic Republic of Iran for the fourth successive season, sealing the Pro League title with four matches remaining after winning away at Naft Masjed Soleyman on Friday.

Yahya Golmohammadi’s side prevailed 2-1 in the match at Behnam Mohammadi Stadium.

Needing a single point on the night to close out the title race, Ali Alipour and Mehdi Abdi Qara scored either side of half-time to put Persepolis in a commanding position, with Hossein Ebrahimi’s 71st minute penalty serving as consolation for the hosts.

See also :

The result put the Tehran side 17 points ahead of their nearest challengers Sepahan, and 20 clear of sixth placed Foolad, who - with two games in hand - were the only side who could still have mathematically overhauled Persepolis’ points tally ahead of Friday’s match.

Persepolis’ title success makes them the first to win the league on four successive occasions since its 2001 establishment. Their title win is also the earliest in league history in terms of games played.

They did so despite the January departure of Argentine head coach Gabriel Calderon, as well as a four-month hiatus caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The players sacrificed themselves to win the title. I want to dedicate the title to the fans and former players who supported us,” Golmohammadi said.

“We were motivated to win the title for the fourth time in a row and made it happen,” the ex-Iran defender said.

Next on the agenda for Persepolis is the resumption of the 2020 AFC Champions League. The Tehran giants gathered just one point in the two matches they completed in the competition in February.

Photo: Persepolis FC

Recommended Stories :