Domestic Leagues

Rampant Melbourne City cruise to W-League Premiership

Friday, February 21, 2020
Melbourne Victory-Women Champs

Sydney: Melbourne City claimed the first major piece of women’s silverware of the Australian domestic season, sealing the W-League Premiership with a match to spare thanks a 4-0 win over Western Sydney Wanderers at Marconi Stadium on Thursday.

Thursday’s win took the star-studded City outfit nine points clear of Sydney FC, meaning they cannot be caught in the race for the title.

See also :

Having won all but one match and conceding only three goals all season – with their last concession coming back in December - Rado Vidosić’s side arrived in Sydney expecting to secure their second Premiership, and their confidence proved to be well founded.

Scottish international Claire Emslie opened the scoring from the penalty spot, before two goals from Matildas full-back Ellie Carpenter – one six current Australian internationals in City’s starting line-up – extended the lead, with American substitute Ally Watt adding a late fourth.

View this post on Instagram

This team! 💙💙💙

A post shared by Melbourne City FC (@melbournecity) on

Melbourne City will complete their league campaign next Sunday, before attention turns to the W-League Finals Series, where the top four sides in the regular season will compete for the Championship.

City’s sizeable international contingent will miss next week’s final league match against Brisbane Roar, but are expected to be rushed back in time for the club’s semi-final clash in mid-March.

View this post on Instagram

Congratulations @melbournecity 👏 Tonight's 4-0 win means the club becomes the 2019/20 Westfield #WLeague Premiers 🥇 #WSWvMCY

A post shared by Westfield W-League (@wleague) on

Carpenter, Lydia Williams, Steph Catley, Emily van Egmond, Kyah Simon and Aivi Luik have all be named as part of the Australian squad which will face Vietnam in the final play-off round of AFC Women’s Olympic Qualifying, with the first leg to be held at Newcastle Stadium on March 6.

Photo: Football Federation Australia

Recommended Stories :