Domestic Leagues

United City win 2020 Philippines Football League title

Cavite: United City FC (UCFC) emerged 2020 Philippines Football League champions after defeating Stallion-Laguna 7-1 on Friday, clinching the title with a match to spare.

Spanish striker Bienvenido Maranon scored a hat-trick at the PFF National Training Center in Carmona, Cavite as UCFC turned on the style after leading 2-1 at half time for their fourth victory in as many matches in the shortened PFL season.

UCFC are four points clear of Kaya-Iloilo, who were held 0-0 by Mendiola FC 1991 earlier on Friday, allowing UCFC to continue the winning tradition of their predecessors Ceres-Negros, who won the first three editions of the PFL.

See also :

Mike Ott’s opener six minutes into the match gave United City the lead, only for Ibrahim N’dour to equalise off a long range effort in the 12th minute.

Japanese Takashi Odawara restored UCFC's lead in the 25th minute, scoring with a header.

There was no stopping UCFC in the second half as Ott made it 3-1 in the 54th minute with Maranon scoring in the 58th, 66th and 74th and OJ Porteria in the 71st.

UCFC will lift the PFL trophy on Monday after wrapping up the season against Kaya.

Photos: Philippines Football League

Recommended Stories :